Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 18°C

min temp: 13°C

Search

When are the school holidays for students in Suffolk and Essex during 2016 and 2017?

PUBLISHED: 12:00 01 January 2016 | UPDATED: 10:34 04 January 2016

When are the summer holidays this yeat?

When are the summer holidays this yeat?

With the threat of fines and even prosecution looming over parents who take their children out of school, it is more important than ever to check the school term dates before booking your holidays.

Here we bring you the official holiday dates for 2016/2017 for schools run by the local authorities in Suffolk and Essex - check with your child’s schools for details on staff training days.

Spring Term 2016

For most schools the Christmas break comes to an end this weekend, schools in Essex go back on Monday, January 4 but in Suffolk the majority of classes resume on Tuesday, January 5 as Monday is non-pupil day.

There are just six weeks until schools break up for the half term holiday on Friday, February 12, with pupils returning on Monday, February 22.

The spring term runs until Thursday, March 24 - breaking up a day early to allow pupils to celebrate the Easter weekend from Friday, March 25 to Monday, March 28.

Summer Term 2016

Schools start back on Monday, April 11 after the two-week Easter break.

The half term week runs from end of school on Friday, May 27, with pupils expected back in the playground on Monday, June 6.

The Suffolk Show takes place during this half term week, with show days on Wednesday and Thursday, June 1 and 2 in 2016.

Classes break for the summer holidays on Friday, July 22 - signalling the start of the long six-week summer break.

Autumn Term 2016

The six-week break is due to come to an end at the very end of August in 2016 in Essex, with classes starting back on Thursday, September 1.

But many pupils in Suffolk will be granted a reprieve as most schools will opt for a training day on Thursday, September 1 - meaning classes will actually resume on Friday, September 2.

Classes run through to Friday, October 21, with the half term break officially running from Monday, October 24 to Friday, October 28.

Christmas holidays are less than traditional next year with the last day of term being Wednesday, December 21.

Spring Term 2017

Classes resume on Thursday, January 5 after the two-week Christmas break.

The half term break starts from the afternoon of Friday, February 10.

The spring term resumes on Monday, February 20 with classes breaking for Easter on Friday, March 31 for two weeks - plus an additional day as Easter falls late and therefore Monday, April 17 is a Bank Holiday.

The Duke of Cambridge leaves his role as a pilot for the East Anglian Air Ambulance today. Here, he tells of his pride at doing the job, and pays tribute to his colleagues, and to the people of East Anglia.

A woman was taken to hospital following a two-car crash in Lowestoft last night.

A teenager from Newport is recovering after being struck down with a potentially fatal syndrome affecting just one in a million people.

Ipswich’s free shuttle bus between council offices in Russell Road and the town centre has been saved after the borough agreed to pick up the bill for it.

A 50-year-old man from Cambridgeshire who was arrested after a fatal crash on the A140 on Tuesday will appear in court tomorrow to face dangerous driving charges.

An Essex father who threw a corrosive liquid at a teenager outside a popular restaurant in Walton-on-the-Naze will now face years behind bars.

A jealous Suffolk man who fired a BB gun at a car after finding text messages from the vehicle’s owner on his partner’s phone has been jailed for ten months.

Most read

Eating Out in the Broads

cover

Click here to view
the Eating Out
supplement

View

Visit the Broads

cover

Click here to view
the Visit the Broads
supplement

View

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
MyDate24 MyPhotos24