Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 16°C

min temp: 14°C

Search

Art & books

Mon, 10:27

The number of students taking arts-based or creative subjects is falling. Arts editor Andrew Clarke says we ignore these subjects at our peril because our economic future is tied up in the talent of tomorrow

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Celebrate Roald Dahl Day 2017 by taking our quiz and seeing how much you know about the legendary author.

Monday, September 11, 2017

A new giant artwork in Colchester was unveiled by the Mayor Gerard Oxford on Saturday at Alderwood care home.

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Shortlist is dominated by six female writers

Monday, August 28, 2017

New, musically inspired work by leading exponents in the art of lettering goes on display at Snape Maltings in September.

Friday, August 25, 2017

Oyster Community Press has teamed up with DanceEast and the National Dance Company Wales for an innovative printmaking project.

Thursday, August 24, 2017

The country’s first female firefighter will be at Ipswich County Library next week for a special talk on her experiences.

Monday, August 21, 2017

More than 20,000 people are expected to flock to Felixstowe seafront next month to see the work of 120-plus artists exhibiting on the resort’s promenade.

Monday, August 14, 2017

A tattoo artist who plans to set up the first parlour in Ed Sheeran’s home town said he hoped the singer might “pop in to say hello”.

Monday, August 14, 2017

A retired agricultural engineer has discovered his inner artist at the age of 88.

Saturday, August 12, 2017

A sculptor’s ceremonial farewell to the Suffolk landscape that “fed his imagination for 15 years” has come back to haunt him – after it was mistaken for a body in the water.

Monday, August 7, 2017

A summer holiday craze has brought visitors flocking to the Suffolk seaside, transforming beaches into a huge collaborative art exhibition.

Monday, August 7, 2017

A Suffolk artist’s “love for the absurd beauty of the nude form” has given a revealing perspective on some of the county’s best loved towns.

Thursday, August 3, 2017

From crime thrillers and beach reads to travel memoirs and non-fiction – bookseller Meg Burrows from Ipswich Waterstones has put together a handy list of 13 books you need to read this summer.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Each summer The Suffolk Craft Society stages a showcase of homegrown talent with their annual exhibition in Aldeburgh. Arts editor Andrew Clarke is dazzled by a show that demonstrates that craft is also art.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

A renowned wildlife artist will be exhibiting his latest work at the Suffolk nature reserve that has inspired many of his paintings.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Sudbury’s famous son ‘would be dynamite in polite society today’. James Hamilton’s new biography is a colourful read

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Do you love Pride and Prejudice, or Emma? On the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death, we ask why she’s often lauded as Britain’s favourite novelist

Monday, July 17, 2017

Giles − who gave us tetchy Grandma, grim-faced teacher Chalkie and other characters − was a complex man, according to a new book. Steven Russell reports

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Fans of Mumford and Sons know what to expect from their gigs. In fact, there’s not a music lover out there that won’t know the British band will do when they get out on stage.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Katherine Jenkins is one of the few artists who could look perfectly picturesque gliding towards the Waterfront Stage at Latitude Festival.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Festival goers to Latitude put their best fashion foot forward at the Suffolk festival.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

American comic Reginald D Hunter was at his offensive best despite having to perform his set from a wheelchair after breaking a leg.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

With his charming good looks and energy filled set, it’s hardly surprising the comedy tent was filled with enough young girls to rival a One Direction concert.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

It’s hard to believe this wry and witty comedian started out as a corporate lawyer, although then again it’s not.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Lucy Rose, Skott and Joel Dommett were among the acts to strut their stuff on Saturday afternoon at Henham Park as Latitude Festival continued.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Friday night headliners the 1975 lived up to their reputation of being beautifully weird in the set on Latitude’s main stage.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

You would expect a band with more than 20 years experience to know what they are doing with a festival crowd.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Not an inch of floor space was left empty as people jostled for room when Dara O’Briain took to the Comedy stage to headline on Friday evening.

Friday, July 14, 2017

The famous pink sheep are grazing and Latitude 2017 is underway with numbers at Henham Park, near Southwold, expected to break records.

Most read

Show Job Lists

Topic pages

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
MyDate24 MyPhotos24