Babergh council nominations

BABERGHAll out electionNo overall control. There is no provision for a leader in Babergh's constitution.1999 result: LD 13, Ind 13, Con 10, Lab 5, No Description 1.


All out election

No overall control. There is no provision for a leader in Babergh's constitution.

1999 result: LD 13, Ind 13, Con 10, Lab 5, No Description 1.

Babergh wards have been reviewed by the Boundary Commission since the 1999 election, resulting in changes to at least half the wards.

Alton (2): (formerly two separate wards: Alton and Brantham) Patricia Cave (Con), Kenneth Felstead (Ind), *Duncan Read (LD), *David Wood (LD)

Most Read

Berners (2): (formerly two wards: Berners and Shotley) Peter Burgoyne (Con), *Penny Clarke (LD), *Wendy Sadler (LD)

Boxford (1): (includes Milden and Lindsey from the former Brett Vale ward) *Bryn Hurren (LD) unopposed

Brett Vale (1): (includes Brettenham, formerly part of North Cosford ward) Desmond Keane (Con) unopposed

Brook (2): (new ward made up of Burstall, Sproughton, Chattisham from former Brook Vale ward and Copdock, Washbrook, Belstead, and Wherstead from the former Copdock and Washbrook ward): Dale Cartwright (LD), *Peter Jones (Ind), Nicholas Ridley (Con)

Bures St Mary (1): *Peter Holbrook (Con) unopposed

Chadacre (1): James Long (Ind) unopposed

Dodnash (2): (now includes East Bergholt and Bentley, the latter transferred from the former Copdock and Washbrook ward) John Hinton (Con), Michael Miller (LD), Ian St John (Green Party)

Glemsford and Stanstead (2): (Stanstead moved from Chadacre Ward) *Rex Thake (LD), *Len Young (Ind) unopposed

Great Cornard North (2): Derek Allen (UKIP), *Anthony Bavington (Lab), Carol Beer (Con), *Neil MacMaster (Lab), David Thomas (Con)

Great Cornard South (2): Cynthia Allen (UKIP), Peter Beer (Con), Susan Gibson (Lab), Richard Platt (LD), Humphrey Todd (Con), *Patrick Treacy (Lab)

Hadleigh North (2): *Eileen Banks (Ind), Keith Grimsey (Lab), *Peter Matthews (LD), James Quinlan (Lab), *Ann Stephenson (LD), Patricia White (Con)

Hadleigh South (2): Janetta Byrne (Ind), Jean Chapman (LD), Penelope Cook (Lab), *David Grutchfield (LD), Susan Monks (Lab), Sheila Webb(Con)

Holbrook (1): David Rose (Ind), Annette Steggles (LD)

Lavenham (1): Fiona Jenkins (LD), *John Roberts (Con)

Leavenheath (1): Jennifer Jenkins (Con) unopposed

Long Melford (2): *John Brand (Ind), David Burch (Con), *Richard Kemp (Ind)

Lower Brett (1): (now Polstead, Layham, plus Shelley, Raydon and Higham from the former West Samford ward) Susan Wigglesworth (Ind) unopposed

Mid Samford (2): (new ward made up of Stratford St Mary, Holton St Mary from former W Samford ward, and Gt and Lt Wenham and Capel St Mary from former Capel and Wenham ward) *Susan Carpendale (LD), *Leonard Johnson (LD), Gerald White (Con), David Yorke-Edwards (Con)

Nayland (1): (new ward made up of Nayland with Wissington and Stoke by Nayland, formerly part of Leavenheath ward) *Richard Cave (Con), Christopher Hunt (LD)

North Cosford(1): (now includes Kettlebaston, Chelsworth, Brent Eleigh and Monks Eleigh from the former Brett Vale ward) *Clive Arthey (ND), Richard Sands (Con)

Pinewood (2): (new ward) David Busby (LD), Colin Hurcombe (Con), Colin Kerr (LD)

South Cosford (1): (new ward includes the former Elmsett ward plus Kersey from the former Brett Vale ward) Joyce Jardine (Con), *Brian Lazenby (LD)

Sudbury East (2): *Sylvia Byham (Con), Jack Owen (Lab), Albert Pearce (LD)

Sudbury North (2): *Nicholas Irwin (Lab), *John Sayers (Con), Raymond Smith (Con), Andrew Welsh (LD)

Sudbury South (2): Nigel Bennett (LD), *Martyn Booth (LD), Peter Goodchild (Con), David Regester (Lab)

Waldingfield (2): Frances Bates (LD), David Jardine (Con), *Colin Spence (Con)

Figure in brackets denotes number of councillors to be elected

Key: Conservative (C), Labour (Lab), Liberal Democrat (LD), Green (Green Party), Independent (Ind), UK Independence Party (UKIP), Independent Labour (Ind Lab).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter