General election 2017: Energy sector hopeful of continuity in election aftermath

Simon Gray CEO EEEGR

Simon Gray CEO EEEGR - Credit: Archant

The East of England’s energy sector is hopeful of continuity and solid parliamentary support following the general election.

All MPs along Norfolk and Suffolk’s energy coast – including Thérèse Coffey, Brandon Lewis and Norman Lamb – were re-elected in the tumultuous vote.

Simon Gray, chief executive of the East of England Energy Group (EEEGR), said all were supportive of the east’s “mixed energy portfolio”.

All the parties, with the possible exception of the Greens, are supportive of the East energy coast we have here in terms of our gas and offshore wind developments,” he said.

“We have got strong local MPs along the energy coast, who have all been supportive of our organisation and our energy strategy for the region.”

He added: “Despite what has happened there is still huge international interest in our energy industry.”