Lowestoft: 4NRg again among winners at EEEGR’s Energy Innovation Awards

A SUFFOLK company which has designed a novel tidal power generator was among the winners at the 2012 Energy Innovation Awards, organised by the East of England Energy Group (EEEGR).

Lowestoft-based 4NRg won the Low Carbon award for its development of the Tidal Harvester, a specialist tidal energy generator for use in shallow waters.

Mark Aspinal of 4NRg said the recognition came at a vital time for the project, with the company currently seeking further investment to support its continued development.

The award came in the same week that energy company E.ON began sea trials of 4NRg’s Scour Prevention Systems concept for protecting off-share wind turbines for which the Suffolk company won the main award at last year’s Energy Innovation Awards.

This year’s main winner was Select Innovations of Loddon, near Thetford, for a range of commercial lighting products which offer substantial potential energy savings.

Select says that the EnLight system, which is currently undergoing trials in Norfolk, could resolve the dilemma faced by local authorities in turning off street lighting at nights to save costs, but although it is being pioneered in street lighting it has a range of other potential applications.

Runner-up for the main award was Oilennium, also based in Loddon, for its development of a training simulator for operators of large rig-based industrial equipment.

Most Read

EEEGR also presented its Member of the Year accolade to CLS Offshore, based at Gorleston, and Special Recognition awards went to David Edwards of ECITB, for its partnership work with the Skills for Energy programme, and to Andrew Wood, who helped John Best set up EEEGR 11 years ago.

The awards, held at the Holiday Inn at Norwich Airport, were attended by around 200 people.

EEEGR chairman Alan Barlow also paid tribute to Mr Best, who is stepping down from his role as chief executive next month. “John is the man who made it all happen,” said Mr Barlow.

The Innovation Awards were sponsored by Choicce, Dummett Copp LLP, Lowestoft College and Great Yarmouth College with support from the European Regional Development Fund and DECC.

The trophies were designed and engineered by Warren Services, of Thetford.