Councillor John Griffiths remains as leader of St Edmundsbury Borough Council

John Griffiths

John Griffiths - Credit: Archant

John Griffiths has been re-elected as leader of St Edmundsbury Borough Council.

The borough council’s new cabinet was announced at the annual council meeting held at the Apex in Bury St Edmunds today.

The announcement was preceded by a ceremony to install Patrick Chung as the new Mayor of St Edmundsbury.

Mrs Anna Chung is the new mayoress and Julia Wakelam has become deputy mayor.

Mr Griffiths said: “I am honoured to be able to carry on serving the people of St Edmundsbury. We are well-placed to face the considerable challenges ahead and will continue to focus on our strategic priorities of economic growth, housing and strong communities.

“I look forward to working with my fellow councillors and others, both here and across the county, to help further improve things here in west Suffolk.”

Sara Mildmay-White was re-elected as deputy leader.

Most Read

The six cabinet members are: Robert Everitt (families and communities), Sara Mildmay-White (housing), Jo Rayner (leisure and culture), Peter Stevens (operations), Alaric Pugh (planning and growth) and Ian Houlder (resources and performance).

Mr Griffiths added: “I also want to take this opportunity to thank our retiring councillors for their service and dedication. They can take pride in their, and this council’s, achievements to maintain and improve the quality of life and services for our communities, residents, businesses, voluntary groups and others, despite huge pressures on funding.”

The political balance of St Edmundsbury Borough Council is: Conservative - 36 seats, UKIP - four seats, Labour - two seats, Green - one seat, and Independent - two seats.