Counting costs in Chelmsford

CHELMSFORD All out electionNo overall control. Liberal Democrats provide leader1999 election result: Lib Dem 28, Con 21, Lab 5, Ind 2Now: Lib Dem 26, Con 22, Lab 5, Ind 3Bicknacre and East and West Hanningfield (2): Hilary Chad (Lab), *Alan Dixon (Ind), Paul Matthews (Lab), *Richard Poulter (Con), Ronald Saunders (Con), *David Whiting (LD), Edward Williamson.

By Roddy Ashworth


All out election

No overall control. Liberal Democrats provide leader

You may also want to watch:

1999 election result: Lib Dem 28, Con 21, Lab 5, Ind 2

Now: Lib Dem 26, Con 22, Lab 5, Ind 3

Most Read

Bicknacre and East and West Hanningfield (2): Hilary Chad (Lab), *Alan Dixon (Ind), Paul Matthews (Lab), *Richard Poulter (Con), Ronald Saunders (Con), *David Whiting (LD), Edward Williamson.

Boreham and the Leighs (2): Vivienne Davies (LD), *John Galley (Con), Timothy MacGregor (Lab), Sarah Mackrory (LD), Philip Wilson (Con).

Broomfield and The Walthams (3): *Delmas Ashford (Con), Anna-Marie Broadhead (LD), Andrew Dearman (Lab), William Evans (Lab), Jason Need (Con), *Graham Pooley (LD), Michael Powell (Lab), Deborah Richardson (LD), *Alan Willsher (Con).

Chelmer Village and Baulieu Park (3): *Ronald Alcock (Con), *Neil Gulliver (Con), *Duncan Lumley (Con), Andrew Robson (LD), James Russell (Lab), John Styles (LD), Robert Webb (LD).

Chelmsford Rural West (1): Nicolette Chambers (Con), *Philip Evans (LD), Barry Williams (Lab).

Galleywood (2): Muriel Briault (Lab), James Hutchon (LD), John Mountain (LD), Roger Patterson (Lab), *Janette Potter (Con), *David Stevenson (Con).

Goat Hall (2): Susan Ford-Sumner (Con), Vernon Makin (Con), *Freda Mountain (LD), Brian Whitelaw (Lab and Co-op), John Williams (LD).

Great Baddow East (3): Kenneth Carr (Con), Ivy Day (Con), Carol Kemp (Lab), David Laing (Lab), Peter Martin (Con), *Trevor Miller (LD), *Christine Rycroft (LD), Andrew Sosin (LD), Ernest Webb (Lab).

Great Baddow West (2): Kerry Abel (Lab), Joanna Grinrod (Lab), Peter Hindle (Con), *Margaret Hutchon (LD), Roy Moore (Con), Janetta Sosin (LD).

Little Baddow, Danbury and Sandon: Colin Budgey (Green), Paul Chaplin (LD), Lester Crichton (LD), *Maurice Hurrell (Con), *Christopher Kingsley (Con), Donald Newton (Lab), Lawrence O'Brien (LD), *Ian Wright (Con).

Marconi: Jennifer Alefounder (Con), Susan Harvey (LD), Clive Hodges (Con), *William Horslen (Lab), *Adrian Longden (Lab), Richard Pennicard (LD).

Moulsham and Central: Patrick Baldwin (Lab and Co-op), Peter Brooks (LD), Peter Dixon (Lab and Co-op), *Keith Francis (LD), Sameh Hindi (Con), Robert Jones (Lab and Co-op), *David Lee (Con), Clive Secluna (LD), Stephen Stratton (Ind), Timothy Worrall (Con).

Moulsham Lodge (2): *Philip Firth (LD), Frederick Grindrod (Lab), Pauline Hepworth (Con), *David Jones (Lib Dem), David Kimberlin (Con), John Knott (Lab).

Patching Hall (3): Alan Arnot (LD), Richard Campion (Con), Roy Chad (Lab), Peter Charman (LD), David Howell (Lab), Michael McCullough (Con), Sean O'Sullivan (Lab), *Thomas Smith-Hughes (LD), Nicholas Stevenson (Con), Angela Thomson (Green).

Rettendon and Runwell (2): *John Little (Con), *Eileen Mickleborough (Ind), Benjamin Owen (LD), Raymond Ride (Con).

St Andrews (3): *Elaine Baldwin (Lab), John Candler (Con), *John Devane (Lab), Simon Jones (LD), Russell Kennedy (L), Patricia Marchand (Con), Kathleen Pauley (Con), John Trustrum (LD), Thomas Willis (LD).

South Hanningfield, Stock and Margaretting (2): George Allan (LD), Nancy Edwards (LD), Ian Grundy (Con), Carol Stevens (Lab), *Roy Whitehead (Con).

South Woodham – Chetwood and Collingwood (3): *James Allen (Con), Matthew Lewis (LD), *Maureen Moulds (Con), *Christopher Stephenson (Con), Noel Sutcliffe (LD), David Sykes (LD), Catherine Trevaldwyn (Lab).

South Woodham – Elmwood and Woodville (3): James Barnett (Lab), Judith Deakin (LD), Linda-Anne Denston (Con), Robert Denston (Con), Max Gibson (Lab), *Jenifer Goldfinch (LD), Patricia Hughes (Con), Alison Hurst (Lab), *Paul Martin (Ind), *Ian Roberts (LD).

Springfield North (3): Steven Haigh (Lab), Margaret Horslen (Lab), Karen Kennedy (Lab), *Pamela Lane (LD), William Lane (LD), *Michael Mackrory (LD), Graham McGhie (Con), David Sismey (Con), Anthony West (Con).

The Lawns (2): Eleanor Burgess (Green), *Anthony Hall (LD), *Philip Harvey (LD), Pamela Joughin (Con), Robert Miller (Lab), Alan Rigg (Lab), Yvonne Spence (Con).

Trinity (2): Susan Davis (LD), Roderick Essery (Lab), Ian Gale (LD), *Paul Hutchinson (Con), Prudence Jones (Lab), Alastair Tween (Con).

Waterhouse Farm (2): Maurice Austin (Lab Co-op), Joan Bliss (Lab Co-op), Lorraine Cobbold (LD),*John Hunnable (LD), Anthony Lipman (Con), Christopher Wickers (Con).

Writtle (2): Richard De Ville (Green), Barry Grainger (Lab), Thomas Mahon (Ind), Susan O'Brien (Lab), Angela Robinson (LD), Stephen Robinson (LD), Timothy Roper (Con), *Anthony Sach (Con).

Figure in brackets denotes number of councillors to be elected

* denotes councillors seeking re-election.

Key: Conservative (Con), Labour (Lab), Labour & Co-opeartive (Lab Co-op), Liberal Democrat (Lib Dem), Green Party (Green), Independent (Ind)

Some Labour candidates are standing under the Labour and Co-operative Party banner

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter