East Euro constituency - in detail

East of England Euro constituency(covers Essex, Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire & Bedfordshire).Electorate: 4,137,210Seats at stake: 7.

East of England Euro constituency

(covers Essex, Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire & Bedfordshire).

Electorate: 4,137,210

Seats at stake: 7.

Full lists of seven candidates have been lodged by Labour, the Liberal Democrats, UK Independence Party, Green Party, ProLife Party, Respect - the Unity Coalition, and the British National Party. The Conservatives have a list of six, and the English Democrats five. There are two Independent candidates.

Method of election: the d'Hondt system of proportional representation using closed party lists.

Most Read

Polling stations open Thursday: 8am-10pm

Count takes place Sunday at district council level. Results collated by the regional returning officer David Monks at Huntingdon.

The full list of candidates:

(in party alphabetical order)

British National Party: 1. Matthew Charles Single (of South Woodham Ferres, Essex); 2. Paul Jonathan Goodchild; 3. Patricia Hazel Richardson; 4. Ramon Paul Johns; 5. Bernard Alfred John Corby; 6. Sidney Albert Chaney, Laindon; 7. Peter James Turpin.

Conservative Party: 1 *Geoffrey Charles Van Orden (of Bildeston, Suffolk); 2. *Robert William Sturdy; 3. *Christopher John Pridham Beazley; 4. Jonathan Morgan; 5. Claire Patricia Annette Strong; 6. Richard Normington.

English Democrats Party: 1. Robert Jervis Kay (of Pettistree, Suffolk); 2. James Brian Samuels; 3. Adrian Ralph Key; 4. Gloria Meredew; 5. Michael Thomas Martin.

Green Party: 1. Margaret Elizabeth Wright (of Cambridge); 2. Adrian Philip Ramsay; 3. James Edward Abbott; 4. Marc Scheimann; 5. Ingo Wagenknecht; 6. Stephen Lawrence Rackett; 7. Stephen Roger Lawrence.

Independent: Martin Bell (of London)

Independent: John James Naisbitt, commonly known as Jim (of St Albans, Hertfordshire).

Labour: 1. *Richard Stuart Howitt (of Cambridge); 2. Beth Kelly; 3. Clive John Needle; 4. Sandra Rose Griffiths; 5. Nigel Robert Gardner; 6. Valerie Doreen Liddiard; 7. Mark Adrian Wells.

Liberal Democrat: 1. *Andrew Nicholas Duff (of Cambridge); 2. Christopher James White; 3. Anne Kathleen (Kathy); 4. Rosalind Mary Gill; 5. Guillaume McLaughlin; 6. Earnshaw Desmond Palmer; 7. Nahid Boethe.

Prolife Party: 1. Sarah Teresa Anne Bell (of Luton, Bedfordshire); 2. Thomas Anthony Hoey; 3. Beata Anna Klepacka; 4. John Joseph Matthews; 5. Michael Patrick McBrien; 6. Gregory Patrick Tagney; 7. Clare Joan Therese Underwood.

Respect - the Unity Coaliton (George Galloway): 1. James Ernest Rogers, (of Harlow, Essex); 2. Mariam Cook; 3. Adrian Clarke; 4. Hasna Matin; 5. Paul Anthony Turnbull; 6 Marie Louise Bunting; 7. Timothy William George Sneller.

UK Independence Party: 1. *Jeffrey William Titford (of Frinton-on-Sea, Essex) 2. Thomas Harold Wise; 3. Robin Page; 4. Stuart John Agnew; 5. Bryan Garnet Smalley; 6. Brian Aylett; 7. Roger Gordon.

*Denotes Euro MP seeking re-election

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter