max temp: 11°C

min temp: 6°C


Election 2017: Find out who is standing in the general election in Suffolk and north Essex

PUBLISHED: 13:59 30 May 2017 | UPDATED: 13:59 30 May 2017

General Election 2017 logo burgundypink

General Election 2017 logo burgundypink

Candidates for the 2017 General Election in Suffolk and Essex have now been confirmed. They are:

Candidates for seats in Suffolk:

Bury St Edmunds

Conservative: Jo Churchill

Labour: Bill Edwards

Liberal Democrat: Helen Korfanty

Green: Helen Geake

Independent: Liam Byrne

Central Suffolk and North Ipswich:

Conservative: Dr Dan Poulter

Labour: Elizabeth Hughes

Liberal Democrat: Aidan Van Der Weyer

Green: Regan Scott

UKIP: Stephen Searle


Conservative: Ben Gummer

Labour: Sandy Martin

Liberal Democrat: Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett

Green: Charlotte Armstrong

UKIP: Tony Gould

Independent: David Tabane

South Suffolk

Conservative: James Cartlidge

Labour: Emma Bishton

Liberal Democrats: Andrew Aalders-Dunthorne

Green: Robert Lindsay

UKIP: Aidan Powlesland

Suffolk Coastal

Conservative: Dr Therese Coffey

Labour: Cameron Matthews

Liberal Democrat: James Sandbach

Green: Eamonn O’Nolan

Independent: Philip Young


Conservative: Peter Aldous

Labour: Sonia Barker

Liberal Democrat: Jacqueline Howe

Green: Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw

UKIP: Bert Poole

Independent: Allyson Barron

West Suffolk

Conservative: Matt Hancock

Labour: Michael Jeffreys

Liberal Democrat: Elfreda Tealby-Watson

Green: David Allright.

UKIP: Julian Flood

North Essex candidates:


Conservative: James Cleverly

Labour: Malcolm Fincken

Liberal Democrat: Peter Turner

Green: Thomas Pashby

UKIP: Richard Bingley


Conservative: Vicky Ford

Labour: Christopher Vince

Liberal Democrat: Stephen Robinson

UKIP: Nigel Carter

Green: Hassam Reza


Conservative: Giles Watling

Labour: Natasha Osben

Liberal Democrat: David Grace

Green: Chris Southall

UKIP: Paul Oakley

English Democrats: Robin Tilbrook

Independent: Caroline Shearer

Independent: Nick Martin


Conservative: Will Quince

Labour: Tim Young

Liberal Democrat: Sir Bob Russell

Green: Mark Goacher

Christian People’s Alliance: Robin Rennie

Harwich and North Essex

Conservative: Bernard Jenkin

Labour: Rosalind Scott

Liberal Demorcrat: Dominic Graham

Green: Blake Roberts

UKIP: Aaron Hammond

Christin People’s Alliance: Stephen Todd


Conservative: John Whittingdale

Labour: Peter Edwards

Liberal Democrat: Zoe O’Connell

UKIP: Jesse Pryke

Green: Steven Betteridge

BNP: Richard Perry

Saffron Walden:

Conservative: Kemi Badenoch

Labour: Jane Berney

Liberal Democrat: Mike Hibbs

UKIP: Lorna Howe


Conservative: Priti Patel

Labour: Phil Barlow

Liberal Democrat: Jo Hayes

Green: James Abbott

Related articles

Two teenagers who carried out a revenge stabbing in Colchester in which a 17-year-old youth suffered life threatening injuries have been detained for a total of 13 years.

An e-fit of a man who Suffolk police would like to talk to in connection to an armed robbery in Haverhill has been released.

A young salon owner has described her heartbreak after hundreds of pounds of stock was stolen from her business in a break-in.

Suffolk is set to see sunny skies over the weekend - but a low mist could hamper commuters on their journey home.

New management has been found for several schools in Suffolk and north Essex formerly run by the controversial academy trust Bright Tribe.

A crunch summit between Shotley Pier stakeholders is being held to try and decide on the plans for the future of the Suffolk tourist attraction.

Two Ipswich residents have been left with bills of more than £1,000 between them after subjecting their neighbours to late-night, high-volume music by Status Quo and Natalie Imbruglia.

Most read

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

MyDate24 MyPhotos24