Halesworth: Five councillors resign after coming under attack on social networking sites

Ezra Leveret who has resigned from Halesworth Town Council

Ezra Leveret who has resigned from Halesworth Town Council - Credit: Eastern Counties Newspapers

A town council has been shocked by the sudden resignations of five experienced councillors.

This week’s annual meeting of Halesworth Town Council on Monday was dominated by the resignations of former chairmen Ezra Leverett and Sandra Leverett along with experienced councillors David Fosdike, and Andrew Jones.

The following day another experienced councillor, Janet Wright, also handed in her resignation.

The town council has been rocked in recent weeks as some councillors have come under personal attacks on social networking sites.

However, in a joint statement the five councillors said resigning was a difficult decision to reach but “in the light of all the circumstances we are unable to continue in our roles”.

The statement goes on to say: “On leaving we want to express deepest thanks to our town clerks. Their commitment both to the council and to our community is outstanding.

“We ourselves will continue to support the community in whatever way we can.”

Most Read

The five former town councillors list a number of common goals they will continue to support:

• Any changes to the town plan should be subject to public consultation.

• A fully integrated well thought-through bus hub, focussed on Angel Link, and open to full public scrutiny.

• To return the Old Court House which house the council office and other community groups to town ownership.

• We support a healthy, vibrant town centre which encourages new enterprise in the primary shopping area.

• We support the library, an excellent service which was under threat from Suffolk County Council.

• We are concerned about the slow progress on the refurbishment of the Rifle Hall.

In his resignation letter David Fosdike said: “It is a difficult decision to come to but due to many different reasons feel it be in the best interests, not only for myself, but more so for the town and its parishioners, that this be my cause of action.”

Annette Dunning has been elected chairman of the town council with Letitia Smith as vice chairman.

There are currently six town councillors serving at Halesworth.

Arthur Charvonia, of Waveney District Council, has asked for applications for people willing to serve on the town council.

If ten or more people apply there will be an election but if there are fewer applications the vacancies will be filled by co-option.

Applications have to be made to the Halesworth Town Clerk by Wednesday, June 5.

If an election is called it will take place no later than August 8.