Search

Why Journalism Matters now more than ever

PUBLISHED: 06:00 05 October 2020 | UPDATED: 06:29 05 October 2020

Portman House, home of the East Anglian Daily Times and Ipswich Star

Portman House, home of the East Anglian Daily Times and Ipswich Star

Archant

Journalism Matters. That’s the title of an annual campaign that kicks off again this week; a chance for the news media industry to shout about the good work we do for our regions and for our society as a whole.

The EADT has served the community for 146 yearsThe EADT has served the community for 146 years

Never before have those two words held as much resonance as they do in 2020. Journalism matters more than ever in a pandemic, when there is a pressing need for accurate local information from trusted sources rather than the wild speculation on social media. Journalism matters more than ever in lockdown, when those excluded from digital news by age, by social status or by choice, rely on the regular arrival of their paper to keep in touch with their community and the world outside.

At Archant, the company which produces this and many other local newspapers across the country’, we felt keenly our responsibility to keep you informed, to keep readers connected and to keep supporting the businesses that serve our regions.

So we provided verified news, data and explainers on the Covid-19 outbreak to our readers in whatever forms they wanted it - in print, on our websites, via our social media channels and special newsletters. We highlighted the amazing work being done by local residents and we called out national and local authorities when we were justified in saying that their response was not good enough.

We offered free delivery for our newspapers to help vulnerable readers and gave free publicity to the local firms who innovated in order to survive. We were there with you and you were there with us in huge numbers, supporting us by buying papers and visiting our websites just as we supported you. Thank you.

Our newspapers continue to keep people up to date with the coronavirus impact locallyOur newspapers continue to keep people up to date with the coronavirus impact locally

Together, we face more uncertain times ahead. Many industries remain in a precarious state, and the news media business is no different.

We will need each other to get through this. We promise to keep you informed and to keep fighting on the issues that matter to you; holding power to account through our investigations. And in return, we’d like you to do something for us.

Our industry has set out several proposals for how the government can help us out by reducing the huge imbalance in bargaining power between the news media and the giant tech companies. You can read more about these proposals here.

You can help by emailing or writing to your MP and asking them to put pressure on the government to implement these proposals. A list of local MPs’ email addresses is at the bottom of this article; or you can write to them at House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.

If you prefer to read our work in print, please guarantee yourself a copy by taking out a subscription. You can do this by calling 01603 772138 or emailing the team.

If you are reading on your smartphone, laptop or tablet, you can help out by pledging a one-off or recurring amount to support our journalism. Just click on the ‘Become A Supporter’ boxes on our sites and in our newsletters.

The worst of circumstances has shown the best of local journalism. As we move forward, news media will be a critical part of our recovery by continuing to keep the you informed and also by providing a unique boost to local business.

So if you agree that Journalism Matters, get behind our news media industry so that it can continue to perform this vital role and deliver the journalism we all want to read.

You may also want to watch:

• Editor Brad Jones will be discussing Journalism Matters, the future of the news media industry and what it takes to edit the EADT and Ipswich Star in a special live Q&A on Thursday October 8 at 11am. For details on how to join the webinar, or to send questions in advance, email brad.jones@archant.co.uk.

How to contact your MP:

Tom Hunt (Ipswich) - tom.hunt.mp@parliament.uk

Daniel Poulter (Central Suffolk and North Ipswich) - daniel.poulter.mp@parliament.uk

James Cartlidge (South Suffolk) - james.cartlidge.mp@parliament.uk

Therese Coffey (Suffolk Coastal) - therese.coffey.mp@parliament.uk

Matt Hancock (West Suffolk) - matt.hancock.mp@parliament.uk

Peter Aldous (Waveney) - peter.aldous.mp@parliament.uk

Jo Churchill (Bury St Edmunds) - jo.churchill.mp@parliament.uk

Bernard Jenkin (Harwich and North Essex) - bernard.jenkin.mp.parliament.uk

Will Quince (Colchester) - will.quince.mp@parliament.uk

Giles Watling (Clacton) - giles.watling.mp@parliament.uk

Priti Patel (Witham) - priti.patel.mp@parliament.uk

James Cleverly (Braintree) - james.cleverly.mp@parliament.uk


If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the East Anglian Daily Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the East Anglian Daily Times