Local elections - Suffolk Coastal: Tories easily retain control

SUFFOLK Coastal remains in Conservative control after a day of few surprises.

Votes were counted for the coastal districts at Suffolk Police headquarters in Martlesham.

Overall voter turnout in Suffolk Coastal is up 8% on 2007 to 49.3%. Highest turnout was in Yoxford where 61.9% voted. The lowest turnout was in Felixstowe West where just 37.3% voted. The Saxmundham count was delayed for a recount.

Results will be updated on this page as they come in.

Earl Soham: Robert Snell (C) 738*, Tony Dockerill (L) 243

You may also want to watch:

Hacheston: Graham Peck (C) 483*, Lesley Bensley (L) 191, Andrew Houseley (LD) 166, Rachel Fulcher (Gn) 117

Grundisburgh: Anthony Fryatt (C) 665*, Eric Middleton (L) 289

Most Read

Hollesley with Eyke: Jane Marson (C) 579*, Janet Snell (L) 318

Felixstowe South: Peter Coleman (C) 694*, Joan Sennington (C) 693*, Richard Reaville (L) 375, Andrew Tink (L) 352, Gerard Hughes (LD) 316, David Miller (LD) 301

Otley:Peter Bellfield (C) 777*, Peter Stone (L) 241

Kesgrave West: Deborah McCallum (C) 877*, Robert Grimwood (C) 692*, Anna Hubert-Chibnall (L) 427

Rendlesham: Terence Eastman (C) 659*, Hugo Martineau-Needham (L) 321

Peasenhall: Stephen Borroughes (C) 604*, Roger Benstead (L) 331

Aldeburgh: Marianne Fellowes (C) 833*, Terry-Jill Haworth (C) 766*, Sarah Duerr (Ind) 575, Stephen Day (LD) 455

Felixstowe North: Michael Deacon (L) 887*, Kimberley Williams (L) 687*, Wayne Dye (C) 572, Michael Titchener (C) 563

Felixstowe South East: Janet Garfield (C) 892*, Andrew Smith (C) 849*, James Bennett (LD) 639, Cherrie MacGregor (LD) 513, Ruth McGrath (L) 377

Woodbridge Farlingaye: Diana Ball (LD) 316*, Patricia Mulcahy (C) 245, William White (L) 202

Sutton: Christine Block (LD) 502*, James Adeane (C), Thomas Bolger (L) 125

Framlingham: Christopher Hudson (C) 1040*, Colin Walker (C) 900*, John Clough (L) 447, Edward Thompson (Gn) 436, Edna Salmon (L) 355

Wickham Market: Bryan Hall (LD) 486*, Valerie Pizzey (L) 126, Diane Smith (C) 191

Woodbridge Kyson: Edward Binns (C) 317*, Vanessa Gregory (LD) 274, Roy Burgon (L) 163

Yoxford: Barry Slater (Ind) 594*, Helen Williams (C) 386

Felixstowe West: Stuart Bird (C) 590*, Michael Sharman (L) 590*, Margaret Morris (L) 574*, Henry Dangerfield (LD) 547, Stephen Beedle (C) 546, John Mullen (L) 535, Jeremy Moore (C) 503, Michael Ninnmey (LD) 479, Peter Woods (LD) 454

Woodbridge Seckford: Jason Sayles (C) 477*, Victor Harrup (LD) 298, Susan Bale (L) 162

Witnesham: Steven Hudson (C) 659*, Anthony Scott (L) 207

Felixstowe East: Doreen Savage (C) 1150*, Christopher Slemmings (C) 1013*, Gillian Mason(Ind) 570, Harriet Bennett (L) 373, Bernard Price (LD) 310, Heather Mullen (L) 260

Woodbridge Riverside: Geoffrey Holdcroft (C) 538*, Kathleen Yule (LD) 306, Andrew Corston (L) 152

Rushmere St Andrew: Robert Whiting (C) 1422*, John Withey (C) 1405*, Mark Newton (C) 1393*, Stanley Robinson (L) 728

Walberswick and Wenhaston: Michael Gower (C) 595*, Anne Thomas (L) 319

Nacton: Veronica Falconer (C) 1113*, Patricia O’Brien (C) 1103*, Andrew Leeder (L) 377, Betsy Reid (Gn) 357, Peter Waller (L) 322

Kesgrave East: Sally Ogden (C) 1405*, Angela Neale (C) 1390*, John Klaschka (C) 1343*, David Isaacs (L) 704, Barbara Dockerill (L) 606, Derrick Fairbrother (LD) 561, James Howard (Gn) 542, Manooch Azmoodeh (LD) 443

Melton and Ufford: Michael Bond (C) 1110*, James Bidwell (C) 1101*, Jeremy Bale (L) 470, Cerys Shepherd (L) 452, John Ball (LD) 405

Martlsham: John Kelso (LD) 1110*, Christopher Blundell (C) 960*, Paul Callaghan (C) 484, Leo Brome (Ind) 340, Adam Leeder (L) 264, Howard Needham (L) 225, David Keeble (Gn) 193, John Forbes (Gn) 181

Trimleys with Kirton: Susan Harvey (C) 1053*, Graham Harding (C) 981*, Richard Kerry (C) 948, Sherrie Green (Ind) 762, Justine Good (L) 568, Neville Mayes (L) 560, Andrew Marfleet ( LD) 379, Ian Burnett (LD) 308

Leiston: Anthony Cooper (C Ind) 841*, Andrew Nunn (C) 805*, Trevor Hawkins (C) 745, Terence Hodgson (L) 651, Nigel Parker (C) 581, Brian Cox (L) 529, Stephen Smedley (L) 422, Anna Clark (Gn) 351

Saxmundham: Peter Batho (C) 843*, Marian Andrews (LD) 596*, Joseph Cassels (Gn) 347, Richard Smith (C) 505, Donald Tricker (Ind) 425, Keith Dickerson (LD) 335,

Orford and Tunstall: Raymond Herring (C)*

Snape: Phillip Dunnett (C)*

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus