Full list of Suffolk and Essex recipients in New Year Honours

Diana Porter, who founded Fresh Start new beginnings. Picture: SARAH LUCY BROWN

Diana Porter, who founded Fresh Start new beginnings. Picture: SARAH LUCY BROWN

Inspirational individuals who have worked tirelessly for their communities and excelled in their work have been recognised in the New Year Honours. See the full list of Suffolk and Essex recipients here.




Miss Clare Lucy Marx, CBE. Formerly president, Royal College of Surgeons. For services to Surgery in the NHS. (Woodbridge, Suffolk)


Stephen William Howlett, DL. Group chief executive, Peabody. For services to Housing. (Suffolk/London)


Most Read

Mrs Carol Garrett. Team Leader for Ports and Borders, Trading Standards. For services to Business. (Woodbridge, Suffolk)


Mrs Lorraine Bliss. For services to Disadvantaged Young People in Norfolk and Suffolk. (Dereham, Norfolk)

Richard Alan Carter. Governor West Suffolk College. For services to Education. (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk)

Carol Lukins. For services to HM Coastguard and the Prison Service. (Ipswich, Suffolk)

James Jamieson Lyon. Forest Management director, Forestry Commission. For services to Forestry and to Conservation. (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk)

Mrs Diana Lois Porter. Founder, Fresh Start-New Beginnings. For services to sexually abused children, young people and their families. (Suffolk)

Mrs Alison Rosemary Wheeler. For services to Libraries in Suffolk. (Ipswich, Suffolk)



Miss Alison Lesley Evans. For services to the community in Suffolk. (Beccles, Suffolk)

James Donald Manning. For services to Young People and the community in Ipswich.

Roy William Tricker. For services to Heritage in Suffolk. (Ipswich, Suffolk)




Dave Christopher Hill. Executive director for Social Care and Education, Essex County Council. For services to Children’s Social Care.


Susan Lancioni. Customer Insight and Analysis Lead, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to UK and Global Nuclear Security.

John McGregor. Founder of Contamac. For services to International Trade and Innovation in Polymer Technology.

Richard Rhodes. District manager Essex, Work Services Directorate, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to Disadvantaged People in Essex.

Acting Detective Inspector David John Simm. Metropolitan Police Service. For services to National Security and Counter Terrorism.


Claire Elizabeth Batt. Welfare Officer, Defence Police Federation. For services to the Ministry of Defence Police.

Carol Leslie Browne. Coordinator, 16 Air Assault Brigade, Ministry of Defence. For services to Army Personnel.

Gail Crouchman. Senior Officer, Border Force, Home Office. For services to Border Security and Prevention of Modern Slavery.

Alison Lewis. Site Lead, HM Revenue and Customs. For public service.

Robert Joseph Stanley Long. For services to the community in Maldon, Essex.

Linda Mary Ransom. For services to the community in east London and Essex.

Raymond John Smith. Ceremonial Technical Officer, House of Commons. For services to Parliament.

Mark Williams. Manager, Investigations, Specialist Operations, National Crime Agency. For services to Law Enforcement.



Ramon Lionel (Ray) Banks. For services to the community in Tiptree Essex.

Leslie David Dennison, DL. For services to charity.

Roberta June Harrington. Education Officer, Chelmsford Cathedral, Essex. For services to Education.

Sonia Jean Lewis. For services to the community in Colchester, Essex.

Fiona McCormack. For services to Children and Young Adults with Special Educational Needs in Essex, Hertfordshire and London.

Sarah Reeman McNamara. For services to the community in Terling, Essex.

Graham John Wadley. For services to Church Music.

Shirley Ann Wells. For services to Education and Young People.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter