Therese Coffey is IN making Suffolk MP remain vote a clean sweep

Therese Coffey MP

Therese Coffey MP - Credit: Archant

Therese Coffey has revealed her European Union hand declaring she will vote to remain in the June referendum.

The Suffolk Coastal MP’s decision means all of the county’s House of Commons parliamentarians will back David Cameron in his bid to keep Britain in the union.

The deputy leader of the House of Commons was the only MP in Suffolk and north Essex who had not indicated which way she was going to vote after the prime minister lifted collective ministerial responsibility on Saturday morning following his late night deal on Friday with other European Union ministers.

Dr Coffey tweeted this afternoon: “After a lot of consideration and drawing on my previous experience in business, in the EU referendum, I will be voting to remain.”

She is expected to set out a further explanation of her decision later in the week.

You may also want to watch:

While all the Suffolk MPs have said they want to remain, the majority of north Essex MPs will be campaigning to leave.

Witham MP Priti Patel, who attends cabinet, said on Saturday she would be voting to leave alongside Harwich MP Bernard Jenkin, Braintree MP James Cleverly, Colchester MP Will Quince and the UK Independence Party’s only MP Douglas Carswell.

Most Read

Chelmsford MP Simon Burns will be voting to remain.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus