What do you think of new three-tier lockdown? Vote in our poll

Prime minister Boris Johnson has announced his plans for a new three-tier lockdown system – but what do you make of them?

Under the new system, lockdowns will be implemented through three tiers – with areas experiencing high infection rates put under tight restrictions.

MORE: Explained – what is the new lockdown system?

The “medium” alert level will cover most of the country and consist of the existing national measures – including the rule of six and 10pm hospitality curfew – while the “high” level will see all mixing of households indoors banned – including support bubbles.

Most areas currently under restrictions will be placed under this level.

The “very high” alert level will cover areas where transmission rates are rising rapidly and where there is a threat to NHS capacity.

In these areas, pubs and bars will be forced to close, while meeting in private gardens will also be banned.

MORE: Latest Suffolk coronavirus rates revealed

The system has been implemented in the hopes of avoiding another national lockdown.

Most Read

A postcode search service on the government website will show the alert level in your area, while the NHS Coronavirus App will do so too.

Current national R (reproduction) Rate is said to stand between 1.2 to 1.5 – meaning on average every 10 people infected will pass the virus on to between 12 and 15 others.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus