Logo

Gardening

Gardeners confused after allotment trespassers steal instant coffee and soup

Allotment keepers in one Suffolk town are becoming concerned about the strange break-ins on their patch.

Saturday, May 25, 2019

Chelsea Flower Show gold medal winner, Frederic Whyte, has donated a show garden for St Elizabeth Hospice at this year's Suffolk Show.

Friday, May 24, 2019

Keen gardeners will get a chance to talk to the experts at this year's Suffolk Show.

Friday, May 24, 2019

Your chance to win a £50 gardening voucher and the glory of having the best East Anglian garden!

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Gardening is proven to be good for our mental health and getting children involved at an early age in projects like this is a great way to kick start their passion.

Monday, May 20, 2019

A Suffolk firm is waiting to hear whether one of its entries will be crowned plant of the year at the RHS Chelsea Flower Show.

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Michael Perry, aka Mr Plant Geek, shares top tips on which plants you can pop on your patio during the warmer months. By Hannah Stephenson.

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Suffolk "Plant Geek" Michael Perry is the ambassador for Garden Day on May 12. Here he talks about his life with plants and the how gardens contribute to mental health and well-being.

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

It's time to create a riot of colour with hanging baskets. Hannah Stephenson tries a masterclass to learn the secrets of success.

Friday, April 5, 2019

In cooler areas, and before the month is too old, we can still move and plant evergreen trees and shrubs, provided the soil is not waterlogged. They are best moved or planted once actively growing and when there is less risk of cold weather.

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Brighten your doorway or garden this spring by creating a beautiful hanging basket with the help of Ruth Goudy at Kiln Farm Nursery.

Monday, March 25, 2019

The Callistemon or 'bottlebrush' is a lemon-scented tree and you can get a discount on it today,

Friday, March 22, 2019

Hardy annuals can be sown in pots or modules to provide colour in the garden. Annual grasses can be fun to try too: Briza maxima, Lagurus ovatus and Hordeum jubatum are examples. In mild areas with light soil, we can sow directly outside by marking out irregularly-shaped seedbeds and broadcasting "drifts" of different seed to give a more natural look.

United Kingdom
Friday, March 22, 2019

Buy 25 lily bulbs in a range of colours for less than £20.

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Did you know you can grow tropical fruit in your kitchen?

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Save money on magnolia and mimosa trees

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Garden expert Martyn Davey answers a reader's question about how to grow herbs on a windowsill.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Bring that English country garden look to your outdoor space.

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Gardens across the county will open on Sundays this spring, giving you the chance to get inspiration for your own outside space.

Sunday, March 3, 2019

Make sure you consider these seven things before positioning your garden shed

United Kingdom
Saturday, March 2, 2019

From reusing pots to getting creative, there's lots green-fingered types can do to help cut plastic waste.

United Kingdom
Friday, March 1, 2019

S. Smith Home Improvements can help you to enjoy your garden whatever the weather

Friday, March 1, 2019

Here's our guide to which feathered friends you might spot this springtime

United Kingdom
Sunday, February 24, 2019

Gardening expert Martyn Davey answers your questions.

Friday, February 22, 2019

Join Enjoy Gardening More for loads of great offers and discounts.

Thursday, February 21, 2019

Sign up to Enjoy Gardening More for even more superb offers.

Facebook
Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Join Enjoy Gardening More for more fantastic offers like this.

Facebook
Tuesday, February 19, 2019

There are lots of offers to take advantage of through Enjoy Gardening More.

Facebook
Monday, February 18, 2019

Enjoy Gardening More is offering £10 off this impressive collection.

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Welcome to the Enjoy Gardening More community where you'll find amazing garden deals every day.

United Kingdom
Monday, February 4, 2019

From re-using pots to getting creative, there's lots green-fingered types can do to help cut plastic waste. By Hannah Stephenson.

United Kingdom
Thursday, January 31, 2019

Discover orchids that live on trees, look like bees and act as rubbish dumps for ants.

Friday, January 25, 2019

Committed vegan and gardening expert Matthew Appleby shares some of his top tips. By Hannah Stephenson.

Monday, January 14, 2019

Make your wisteria a cut above the rest by pruning it now, with the help of this simple guide.

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

Horticulturist and gardener Michael Perry has been shortlisted as a finalist in the UK Blog Awards for his Mr Plant Geek blog.

Suffolk
Monday, December 3, 2018

Follow this step-by-step guide to creating a door wreath using on point succulent plants, which will last into the New Year.

Instagram
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

It's almost time to batten the hatches before winter arrives - but you still have time to do five last-minute garden jobs to beat the winter chill.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

As the weather gets cooler, Matthew Biggs offers 5 tips on what to do in the greenhouse to ensure you're ready for winter.

BBC Radio
Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Got a glut of apples? Hannah Stephenson has great ideas for using them up - from jelly and juice to dried snacks

Monday, October 8, 2018

Green Island Gardens has its Autumn Colour Weekend − a real treat for the senses. And it's raising money for charity, too

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

It's back to black as Hannah Stephenson admires noir plants to create contrast and focal points in your outside space.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

How to ripen your tomatoes before it is too late and winter sets in

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Autumn is bulb-planting time, so splash out on some more unusual bulbs which will add a riot of colour and form to your garden in Spring

South Africa
Sunday, August 26, 2018

Do you get twitchy as autumn approaches and the number of gardens opening to the public drops off? Remember there's a super garden open every day - even Christmas Day

United Kingdom
Saturday, August 18, 2018

There's an endorsement on the village website: 'we go to a lot of open gardens events and this is the best'. High praise. We can judge for ourselves soon

Meet the Editor

David Vincent

David Vincent Email

EADT writer David Vincent has more than 40 years experience in Suffolk. He has explored the highways and byeways of East Anglia, meeting homeowners, developers and estate agents from Bury St Edmunds to Aldeburgh and Colchester to Diss.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


2019 © Archant Community Media Ltd

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy | Manage Cookies | Advertise with us | EADT | Jobs at Archant