Logo

Gardening

Almost time to put the garden to bed

It’s almost time to batten the hatches before winter arrives - but you still have time to do five last-minute garden jobs to beat the winter chill.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

As the weather gets cooler, Matthew Biggs offers 5 tips on what to do in the greenhouse to ensure you’re ready for winter.

BBC Radio
Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Got a glut of apples? Hannah Stephenson has great ideas for using them up - from jelly and juice to dried snacks

Monday, October 8, 2018

Green Island Gardens has its Autumn Colour Weekend − a real treat for the senses. And it’s raising money for charity, too

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

It’s back to black as Hannah Stephenson admires noir plants to create contrast and focal points in your outside space.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

How to ripen your tomatoes before it is too late and winter sets in

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Autumn is bulb-planting time, so splash out on some more unusual bulbs which will add a riot of colour and form to your garden in Spring

South Africa
Sunday, August 26, 2018

Do you get twitchy as autumn approaches and the number of gardens opening to the public drops off? Remember there’s a super garden open every day – even Christmas Day

United Kingdom
Saturday, August 18, 2018

There’s an endorsement on the village website: ‘we go to a lot of open gardens events and this is the best’. High praise. We can judge for ourselves soon

Thursday, August 16, 2018

They resemble pubs, tents and black cabs, but one of these sheds could win £1,000 - and a giant crown.

Liverpool
Tuesday, July 31, 2018

Is your garden toxic? Five of the most common plants which can cause blisters, tummy upsets and worse

Monday, July 23, 2018

What passes as a weed to some can pass as a delicious treat to others.

Saturday, July 21, 2018

It has dazzling colours and topiary in the shape of a duckling and dragon!

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Bellflower Garden Centre at Stonham Barns is a must visit for those lookig to spruce up their gardens this summer.

United Kingdom
Tuesday, June 19, 2018

It’s National Insect Week (June 18-24) - and some creepy-crawlies deserve to be celebrated, says Hannah Stephenson.

United Kingdom
Friday, June 15, 2018

Floral Fantasia garden is created at the RHS Garden, Hyde Hall by experts Thompson & Morgan with 14,0000 bedding plants.

Ipswich
Thursday, June 7, 2018

A Suffolk village is to host its first open gardens this weekend when 16 houses will be showcasing their horticultural secrets.

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Want to save your plants and save water? Go easy with the sprinkler and embrace these expert suggestions instead, says Hannah Stephenson.

National Trust
Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Horticulture students have been praised for “outstanding” work after taking gold for an environmental garden at the Suffolk Show.

Suffolk Show
Thursday, May 17, 2018

With some of the floral elements of Meghan Markle’s wedding bouquet revealed, why not re-create it in your garden.

Royal Wedding
Friday, May 4, 2018

Five of the top plants from naturalistic garden designer Piet Oudolf

Surrey
Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Flower fanatics are in for a treat this year as the Suffolk Show goes all out with its biggest display to date.

Trinity Park
Wednesday, April 25, 2018

You can burn thousands of calories a year in your garden - here’s how

Thursday, April 19, 2018

You can save money on summer bedding by buying plug plants

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Owner of Feeringbury Manor reveals the years of work involved in transforming an Essex ‘jungle’ into a stunning garden on the banks of thge Blackwater.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Deer damaging your garden? Here’s how to spot the signs and take action

United Kingdom
Thursday, March 29, 2018

How to make your garden a honeybee heaven

London
Thursday, March 22, 2018

A television show’s resident “gardening guru” will be supporting a children charity’s work in Suffolk with a talk about her life in show business.

BBC Radio
Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Thinking about stocking your pond with fish? Here’s what you ned to know

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Seven steps to a lovely lawn this summer with Hannah Stephenson

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Will climate change affect your outdoor space? Arit Anderson of Gardeners’ World share five top tips

BBC
Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Mind your language - find out what those Latin plant names actually mean

Japan
Friday, February 23, 2018

They are Megham Markle’s preferred blooms - but could you grow peopnies in your garden?

Harry
Thursday, February 8, 2018

Valentine’s Day - great gifts for gardening types

United Kingdom
Thursday, February 8, 2018

Horticultural students are thrilled after they were awarded £50,000 worth of support from a foundation set up in memory of a celebrated Suffolk plantsman.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Top tips; Check out these five shrubs to add winter colour to your garden

Monday, February 5, 2018

Be-dazzled; 10 places to see dazzling drifts of snowdrops this February

United Kingdom
Friday, January 26, 2018

HOW TO CREATE YOUR OWN ‘BIRD CAFE’ AHEAD OF THE BIG GARDEN BIRDWATCH

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

How to grow your own potatoes - in seven simple steps

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Time to clear out the office clutter - and bring some colour and freshness to your workspace

India
Thursday, January 4, 2018

New Year diet and fitness fads come and go, but gardening is a recipe for healthy living, says Monty Don.

BBC
Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Are we killing garden birds with kindness? Three things not to do for our feathered friends in winter

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

New Sunflower variety keeps blooming until late November, says Ipswich horticultural firm.

Ipswich
Thursday, December 14, 2017

Cactus expert Gynelle Leon shares some sharp insights for making the most of these ultra-cool plants.

Instagram
Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Gardening advice; how to grow your own garlic

Meet the Editor

David Vincent

David Vincent Email

EADT writer David Vincent has more than 40 years experience in Suffolk. He has explored the highways and byeways of East Anglia, meeting homeowners, developers and estate agents from Bury St Edmunds to Aldeburgh and Colchester to Diss.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


2018 © Archant Community Media Ltd

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Cookies Policy | Manage Cookies | Advertise with us | EADT | Jobs at Archant