A-Z of Ipswich Town - L is for League Winners

PUBLISHED: 12:00 15 June 2019

Ipswich Town won the First Division Title in 1962

Ipswich Town won the First Division Title in 1962

Dave Kindred

Ross Halls is back with another look at the A-Z of Ipswich Town - and today we’ve reached the letter L.

'L' is for Leage Winners...

The Blues made history in 1962 when they won the First Division title to become champions for the first time, as Sir Alf Ramsey led his side to one of football's great underdog stories.

MORE: Millwall leading the race to sign Ipswich Town goalkeeper Bialkowski

Town have won the Second Division title three times… firstly in 1961 under Ramsey to be promoted to the top flight for the first time.

Bill McGarry then led the Blues to the Second Division title in 1968 and then in 1992 John Lyall made it three to win promotion to the newly formed Premier League.

MORE: Ipswich could face Norwich U21s in Checkatrade 'derby' after Canaries enter young team

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the East Anglian Daily Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the East Anglian Daily Times