Aldous shines at Mistley

CYCLO-CROSSEADT League round 13SHAUN Aldous scored his first win of the 12009/10 cyclo-cross season in the last counting event of the EADT league at Mistley.

Fergus Muir


EADT League round 13

SHAUN Aldous scored his first win of the 12009/10 cyclo-cross season in the last counting event of the EADT league at Mistley. The steep valley-sides of Furze Hill, Mistley suited Aldous - the three-times league champion had the skills to exploit the fast wooded descents, and the light build to help him bound out of the ravines at a pace few could match. - provided he could avoid being baulked by other competitors.

You may also want to watch:

In fact he led from start to finish.

“I took risks early on” said the Extreme Sports Therapy rider. He led into the woods and, helped by potential challenger Greg Simcock fumbling his pedals at the start, was soon clear in the lead. Simcock chased hard, but could not significantly close the gap and eventually finished 1:13 down. However second place was enough to lift him into the runner-up spot in the EADT League, ahead of Richard Dunnett (Diss & District CC).

Most Read

Overall senior league champion is Andrew Nichols from Chelmsford, who missed the Mistley race in order to contest the British Universities Championship in the Midlands, where he just lost out on third place in a sprint, but helped Cambridge University to the silver medal in the team competition.

In the Colchester Rovers event an outstanding effort from Clive Harrison of the Ford CC took him to third place as well as best Elite Veteran. Tim Butler (Ipswich Bicycle Club) and Phil Buick (Thetford MTB) had their eyes on the Over 50s prize, and on each other. Buick sensed Butler struggling a little and put in attack which succeeded, setting up his first-ever Elite V50 win.

The 40-minute race for non-elite veterans started with a big pile-up on the first corner. Paul Moss (Stowmarket & District) avoided this and opened up a good lead but when tall Martin Graves (Newmarket C&TC) joined him at the front, Moss could not match his pace. With sticky mud and slippery leaves on the climbs Moss found himself having to run in places where he expected to ride and Graves drew ahead. Behind, Colin Cracknell (Ipswich BC), Nick Webber (Colchester Rovers) and Michael Sheridan (Newmarket C&TC) were closing fast, but Graves made it to the line first, with the other three all finishing within the next five seconds.

Ford CC's Rachel Moss (no relation of Paul) secured the EADT League women's prize at the last gasp. Her result - 9th overall and first woman finisher - completed her set of eight rides and lifted her above previous league leader Joolz Halpin.

Also settled on the last day was the destination of the Ivan Jeckell Trophy for best club or team in the League. The Ipswich Bicycle Club secured the win with Hugo Robinson winning the youth event and his sister Lorna taking third place in the Under 12s, together with Colin Cracknell's second spot in the veterans. Their closest rivals, PCA Ciclos Uno, who had a team riding the European Masters Championship in Belgium on the same day, did not improve on their best eight league scores.

Imogen Buick (Thetford MTB) was top youth girl while James Madgwick rounded the season off in fine style by winning the Under 14s.

Tristan Price (Ciclos Uno) and James Jackson (Colchester Rovers) took the first two places in the Under 12s, while Sophie Holmes (Diss & District) was first Under 10. Mitch Powell (Chelmer CC) took fourth place, 55 seconds ahead of Elliott Jarvis (Colchester Rovers), but Jarvis takes third spot in the EADT U12 League from Powell by a slender two point margin.

[ On Sunday 31st January/tomorrow ] the EADT League season ends with a stand-alone team race, followed by the League Prize Presentation at Danbury Outdoors, Well Lane, Danbury, CM3 4AB

Full results

Seniors, Juniors, Elite Veterans: 1 Shaun Aldous (Extreme Sports Therapy) 7 laps in 55:27; 2 Greg Simcock (XRT/ +1:13; 3 Clive Harrison 1st Elite Vet (Ford CC) +3:47; 4 Ben Paton Elite Vet (Amis Velo RT) +4:22; 5 Julian Parker Elite Vet (Ipswich BC) +5:34; 6 Adam Keer (Ipswich BC) +6:09

Veterans, Women: 1 Martin Graves Vet 50+ (Newmarket Cycling &Tri Club) 4 laps in 39:23; 2 Colin Cracknell Vet 50+ (Ipswich BC) +0:02; 3 Nicholas Webber 1st Vet (Colchester Rovers) +0:03; 4 Michael Sheridan Vet (Newmarket Cycling &Tri Club) +0:05; 5 Mark Wyer Vet (CC Ashwell) +0:54; 6 Paul Moss Vet (Stowmarket & District) +1:13, 9 Rachel Moss 1st Woman (Ford CC) +2:10.

Youth: 1 Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC) 4 laps in 31:31; 2 Lewis Parker (Ipswich BC) +5:27; 3 Patrick Cook (Ipswich BC) +1 lap -2:09; 4 Imogen Buick 1st Girl (Thetford MTB Racing) +1 lap -1:15; 5 James Madgwick 1st U14 (Lee Valley Youth CC.

Under 12: 1 Tristan Price (PCA Ciclos Uno) 7 laps in 16:42; 2 James Jackson (Colchester Rovers) +1:00; 3 Lorna Robinson (Ipswich BC) +1:06.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter