Bury Town boss Richard Wilkins seeking home comforts

Bury manager Richard Wilkins.

Bury manager Richard Wilkins.

Manager Richard Wilkins’ Bury Town team begin the Ryman Premier League season on their travels, but it is at home where the former Colchester midfielder wants his side to improve.

Town won 3-1 at East Thurrock, this season’s opening day opponents, but lost the reverse fixture at Ram Meadow – one of eight home losses in the 2012-13 campaign.

“We played very well away from home at East Thurrock last season and won the game,” said Wilkins.

“We lost (at Ram Meadow) and our home form is something we want to improve this season.

“East Thurrock got into the play-offs at the end of last season after a great run and it is not going to be an easy game.


You may also want to watch:


“It’s probably easier than Bury Town at home to Harrow Borough though in our second game.

“We have not beat them since being in the Premier League so we hope to rectify that,” added Wilkins, whose side face six league games in the opening month.

Most Read

“I can see what the league are doing, they are trying to cram the games in with two extra teams in the division.

“The pitches are a lot better at this stage of the season, athough they could do with a bit of rain right now.”

Sat Aug 10 East Thurrock United A

Tue Aug 13 Harrow Borough H

Sat Aug 17 Hampton & Richmond Borough H

Tue Aug 20 AFC Hornchurch A

Sat Aug 24 Leiston A

Mon Aug 26 Canvey Island H

Sat Aug 31 Carshalton Athletic A F.A. Cup Prelim

Wed Sep 4 F.A. Cup Prelim - Replays

Sat Sep 7 Wealdstone H

Tue Sep 10 Enfield Town H

Sat Sep 14 F.A. Cup Q1

Sat Sep 21 Metropolitan Police A

Wed Sep 25 Grays Athletic A

Sat Sep 28 Dulwich Hamlet H F.A. Cup Q2

Sat Oct 5 Hendon H F.A. Trophy Prelim

Sat Oct 12 Margate A F.A. Cup Q3

Sat Oct 19 F.A. Trophy Q1

Sat Oct 26 Cray Wanderers A F.A. Cup Q4

Sat Nov 2 Lewes H F.A. Trophy Q2

Sat Nov 9 Billericay Town A F.A. Cup 1

Sat Nov 16 Wingate & Finchley H F.A. Trophy Q3

Sat Nov 23 Bognor Regis Town A

Sat Nov 30 Kingstonian H F.A. Trophy 1

Sat Dec 7 Maidstone United A F.A. Cup 2

Sat Dec 14 Harrow Borough A F.A. Trophy 2

Sat Dec 21 East Thurrock United H

Thu Dec 26 Canvey Island A

Sat Dec 28 AFC Hornchurch H

Wed Jan 1 Leiston H

Sat Jan 4 Hampton & Richmond Borough A F.A. Cup 3

Sat Jan 11 Thamesmead Town H F.A. Trophy 3

Sat Jan 18 Lowestoft Town A

Tue Jan 21 Grays Athletic H

Sat Jan 25 Wealdstone A F.A. Cup 4

Sat Feb 1 Carshalton Athletic H F.A. Trophy 4

Sat Feb 8 Dulwich Hamlet A

Tue Feb 11 Enfield Town A

Sat Feb 15 Metropolitan Police H F.A. Cup 5 / F.A. Trophy Semi-Final (1)

Sat Feb 22 Margate H F.A. Trophy Semi-Final (2)

Sat Mar 1 Hendon A

Sat Mar 8 Billericay Town H F.A. Cup 6

Sat Mar 15 Wingate & Finchley A

Sat Mar 22 Bognor Regis Town H F.A. Trophy Final

Sat Mar 29 Kingstonian A

Sat Apr 5 Maidstone United H

Sat Apr 12 Cray Wanderers H F.A. Cup Semi-Final

Sat Apr 19 Lewes A

Mon Apr 21 Lowestoft Town H

Sat Apr 26 Thamesmead Town A

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter