Cycling: Andrew Cockburn wins mountain biking war of attrition at Hintlesham

Andrew Cockburn (left) and Elvita Branch were the men's and women's winners at Hintlesham. Picture:

Andrew Cockburn (left) and Elvita Branch were the men's and women's winners at Hintlesham. Picture: FERGUS MUIR - Credit: Archant

In the mountain bike racing at Hintlesham, a war of attrition ended with Andrew Cockburn (Newdales Cycles) winning the senior men’s race that was the climax of the day.

Colchester rider Frank Longstaff triumphed at Trinity Park. Picture: FERGUS MUIR

Colchester rider Frank Longstaff triumphed at Trinity Park. Picture: FERGUS MUIR - Credit: Fergus Muir

On a course that combined the wooded valley of the Hintlesham Brook with golden cornfields around Hill Farm, Cockburn was initially in a lead group with Wayne Bennett (Windmill Wheels) and Beccles rider Seb Herrod (Rotor RT).

By mid-race Herrod was tailed off to dangle barely 100 metres behind for a tantalising two laps. Then on the final circuit under a baking sun Cockburn managed to prise open a 21 second gap on Bennett.

The Women’s races were more clear-cut with Felixstowe’s Elvita Branch (Sussed Out) well clear overall and Alison Goss (Sport), Caitlyn Sampson(Junior) and Martha Lebentz (Youth) clear winners of their categories.

The course included a precarious edging round the valley lake, but if anyone went in they managed to keep it quiet.

You may also want to watch:

In the competitive Vets 50-59 category Jimmy Piper (Renvale) and Nick Ainsworth (Aerocycles) headed the class, initially with Mark Wellsted for company.

Next Paul Watson (West Suffolk Wheelers), Mark Wingar (VC Revolution) and Paul Barrow (Amos Velo) watched each other closely with Watson getting the third spot ahead of Barrow.

Most Read

South Londoner Kishan Bakrania outsprinted Nathan Gibson for the Junior prize while Colchester rider Fred Gill on a debut MTB race, but with bags of cyclo-cross experience, revelled in the stability of the specialist bike to take third place.

As usual, detailed results can be seen

Competitors for Week Three of the Suffolk Cycle Race Series raced under clear skies and a hot sun at Trinity Park on the 27th June.

The organisers have focused on promoting Women’s racing, with the race now handicapped to encourage women who want to give racing a go.

Jenny Pearce, of Ipswich Bicycle Club, who raced for her first time in week two, held the lead with Joanne Newstead (Elmy Cycles), for several laps before being overhauled by Rebecca Johnson (Fusion RT) and Gemma Melton (Pedal Power Ipswich).

They contested a cat-and-mouse sprint, with Johnson taking the win from Melton and a fast closing Sophie Holmes (Velo Schils) in third place.

For women who are interested in racing, Jo Newstead is offering taster sessions at Trinity Park ahead of the race programme, starting at 5.00 pm to talk through starts, cornering and answer any questions

See the Suffolk Cycle Race Series Facebook page for details.

The men’s race stayed together despite repeated attacks, which were all bought back by the bunch. The race came down to sprint, with positioning ahead of the last bend onto the finishing straight key to taking victory.

Colchester rider Frank Longstaff (Richardsons-Trek) put himself in prime position and took the sprint from fellow Elite, Matthew Webster (Flamme Rouge).

David Veitch of the promoting Lea Valley CC time-trialled to victory his club’s road race in Essex on the long Radwinter circuit. Sixty three miles in heat rising to 30 degrees proved a tough proposition.

There was a fifth place for Bury St Edmunds rider Sam Asker in the Peterborough CC Road Race, where Josh Aiken (Pedal Power Ipswich) just squeezed in the top ten.

Suffolk riders Glenn Taylor and Mark Arnold on tandem put in a 48:22 time in the CC Breckland evening 25. The strong headwind on the longer outward leg from Larling meant that fast times were hard to come by.

Ben Stancombe of VeloVelocity won the CC won the solo event in 50:41 and led Stuart Fairweather (51:45) and Geoff Frost (56:51) to the team prize. Top lady was Jan Smith (Great Yarmouth CC, 1:02:07)

I was wrong in saying last week that the shortest National Grass Track Championship was the 800 metres. Pete Whelan points out that that honour belongs to the 400 – to be held at his Plomesgate CC meeting this Sunday at Bredfield, near Woodbridge – starting at 1 pm.

RESULT: CC BRECKLAND 25, Larling: 1 Ben Stancombe (VeloVelocity) 50:41, 2 =Daniel Northover (Finsbury Park CC) & Harley Matthews (D A P CC) both 50:53, 4 Stuart Fairweather (VeloVelocity) 51:45, 5 Matt O’Brien (Plomesgate CC) 52:18, 6 Steven Neill (Kings Lynn CC) 53:28, 7 Andrew Grant (Cambridge CC) 54:32, 8 John Bradbury (CC Sudbury) 54:45, 9 Damon Day (CC Sudbury) 54:46,10 Chris Tye (Plomesgate CC) 55:02.

Tandem: Glenn Taylor (Shorter Rochford) & Mark Arnold (VTTA East Anglia) 48:22.

Women: 1 Jan Smith (Great Yarmouth CC) 1:02:07, 2 Gillian Reynolds (Willesden CC) 1:06:16, 3 Emma Taylor (Stowmarket & District CC) 1:09:08.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter