England boss names Euro 2012 squad

ENGLAND manager Roy Hodgson has named his 23-man squad for this summer’s Euro 2012 tournament in Ukraine and Poland.

The Three Lions will face France, Ukraine and Sweden in the group stages as they plan to win a first major trophy since 1966.

Norwich goalkeeper John Ruddy has been rewarded for a fine season in the Premier League with a place in the 23-man squad, while Liverpool’s Andy Carroll has also earned a place after a fine end to the season. Ruddy’s Norwich team-mate, Grant Holt, has missed out.

Arsenal’s Alex Oxlade-Chamberlian has also been chosen.

England team: Hart, Green, Ruddy, Glen Johnson, Jones, Terry, A Cole, Baines, Cahill, Lescott, Barry, Young, Lampard, Milner, Gerrard, Parker, Walcott, Downing, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Carroll, Rooney, Welbeck, Defoe.

Stand-by list: Jack Butland (GK), Jagielka, Henderson, Adam Johnson, Sturridge.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter