Fen Tigers season set to roar with big Anniversary meeting

Daniel Halsey in practice at Mildenhall on Monday. Photo: PHIL MORLEY

Daniel Halsey in practice at Mildenhall on Monday. Photo: PHIL MORLEY - Credit: Archant

Mildenhall Fen Tigers are ready to roar into action on Sunday when they host a very special afternoon at the Mildenhall Stadium.

To celebrate the start of their 40th Anniversary the club are delighted to be holding the first ‘Palmer Trophy’ since 1981 and also to see the return of the ‘Bernie Klatt Memorial Trophy’.

With Premier League riders from local teams Ipswich and Peterborough plus NL rivals Kings Lynn, Rye House and Kent represented, a bumper crowd is expected for this special day.

With nine current or ex-Fen Tigers in the field there is a nostalgic feel to the event, but that is just the beginning! Over 50 ex Fen Tigers and local Speedway luminaries have also been invited to share the day with supporters. The complete Championship winning side from 1979 will be in attendance, led by current Team Manager and then Team Captain Robert Henry plus Ray Bales, Mick Hines, Melvyn Taylor, Mike Spink, Mick Bates, Richard Knight and Team Manager Ron Bagley.

From the very early days current promoter Kevin Jolly (a 1975 Fen Tiger himself) will welcome old team-mates Bob Coles, Paul Clipstone, Fred Mills, John Gibbons plus original co-promoter’s Colin Barber and Terry Waters. Add to that World Champions Michael Lee and Mark Loram, Ipswich legends John Louis, Tony ‘Shrimp’ Davey and Ted Howgego plus many more Fen Tigers from across the 40 years and supporters won’t know which way to look!

You may also want to watch:

The club are also pleased to welcome back the ‘Bernie Klatt Memorial Trophy’ as the club remember and recognise in their 40th season the massive impact Bernie had on the club in its formative years.

The trophy will be ridden for over four heats and will feature three newcomers to the Fen Tigers ranks Tom Bacon, Luke Ruddick and Connor King, plus returning Liam Rumsey. Promoter Kevin Jolly felt this was a perfect way to remember Bernie – he said –

Most Read

Club promoter Kevin Jolly said: “This has been a fantastic winter for the club and this will be the icing on cake prior to the start of our league season. The lads are raring to go and are looking forward to showing supporters that they mean business this season.”

The gates will be open from 1.30pm, with Ex-Riders being announced to the crowd from 3pm, and the meeting due to start at 3.30pm.

There is no increase in prices from last season and normal prices will apply on Sunday – Adults £12, Concessions (60+) & Students £11, Junior (15 and under accompanied by an adult) Free, Car Park Free. A Special 20 page 40th Anniversary Souvenir Programme has been produced for £2.50.

Line-up 1. Tom Stokes (Kings Lynn), 2. Brendan Johnson (Unattached), 3. Connor Mountain (Mildenhall), 4. Cameron Heeps (Ipswich), 5. Danny Halsey (Mildenhall), 6. Marc Owen (Eastbourne), 7. Connor Coles (Mildenhall), 8. Luke Chessell (Rye House), 9. James Cockle (Kings Lynn), 10. Aaron Baseby (Kent), 11. Ben Morley (Kent), 12. Jack Kingston (Mildenhall), 13. Stefan Nielsen (Ipswich), 14. Simon Lambert (Peterborough), 15. Danny Ayres (Kent) and 16. Dan Greenwood (Coventry).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus