Gallery: Suffolk Schools Cross Country Championships at Holbrook

THE best young athletes in the county flocked to Royal Hospital School, in Holbrook, for the Suffolk Schools Series ‘B’ Cross Country Championships, staged on a hilly course on Thursday.

The individual winners from the eight age group races all represented different schools/colleges, although the front-runners were all familiar faces.

The top 40 from the Series ‘A’ races had been invited to attend, and the leading competitors from this latest event will represent Suffolk at the Anglian Schools Championships, to be staged at the same RHS venue on February 4.

Culford’s Nella Walters, who had won the Series ‘A’ minor girls’ race, repeated the feat on Thursday.

Brandeston’s Jolyon Summers improved from fourth to first to win the minor boys’ title, while hot favourite Sophie Tooley, of Beyton, won the junior girls’ race.

You may also want to watch:

Kesgrave’s Sam Allen triumphed in a very competitive junior boys’ age group, and the intermediate races went to the form-book with Hartismere’s Cameron McKie and Megan Soames, of Benjamin Britten, replicating their Series ‘A’ victories.

Macauley Delo, of West Suffolk College, and Suffolk One’s Hannah Pettersson clinched the senior titles.

Most Read

Suffolk Schools Cross Country results

Senior girls: 1 Hannah Pettersson (Suffolk One); 2 Claire Cager (Framlingham College); 3 Katie Duncan (King Edward VI); 4 Polly

Davies (St Felix); 5 Danni Lee (Northgate); 6 Georgis Harmer (RHS); 7 Inca Jordan (Fram/Coll); 8 Fiona Devoy (Culford); 9 Maddie Harris (Kesgrave); 10 Grace Waters (County Upper).

Senior boys: 1 Macauley Delo (West Suffolk College); 2 Simon Dawson (County Upper); 3 Harvey Steele (Hartismere); 4 David Willer (Ipswich); 5 Oli Jones (Farlingaye); 6 James Wilson (Leiston); 7 Adam Cripps (Thurston); 8 Ben Green (Woodbridge); 9 Adam Jones (St Felix); 10 J Rennison (RHS).

Intermediate girls: 1 Megan Soames (Benjamin Britten); 2 Alice Cheverton (Denes); 3 Suzie Reid (Fram/Coll); 4 Emily

Strickland (Thurston); 5 Alice Goodwin (Copleston); 6 Emma Watts (Thurston); 7 Beth Tooley (St Benedicts); 8 Alice Maguire (County

Upper); 9 Emily Gooderham (Thurston); 10 Molly O’Donnell (St Benedicts).

Intermediate boys: 1 Cameron McKie (Hartismere); 2 Dominic Oliver (Sir John Leman); 3 Ross Tennant (Ipswich): 4 Michael

Bartram (County Up); 5 Connor Whiting (East Bergholt); 6 Ted Oldham (Ben/Britt); 7 Seb Anthony (King Edward VI); 8 A Dench

(Debenham); 9 Toby Rankin (Hadleigh); 10 Sean Cuddihy (RHS).

Junior girls: 1 Sophie Tooley (Beyton); 2 Holly Davies (Needham Market); 3 Charlotte Wickens (Kesgrave); 4 Emily Moyes (Stowmarket); 5 Olivia C-Guild (Orwell Park); 6 Gemma Grose (Hardwick); 7 Lauren Howe (Bungay); 8 Chloe Godbold (Chantry); 9

Hannah Barnes (Bungay); 10 Imogen Bacon (Wood).

Junior boys: 1 Sam Allen (Kesgrave); 2 Ben Eames (Castle Manor); 3 Theo Passmore (Farlingaye); 4 Jamie Finch (SJL); 5

Stanley Collins (St Felix); 6 Matthew Le Poidevin (County Up); 7 Richard Ling (Cop); 8 Henry Milldown (Farlingaye); 9 Alfie Foster

(East Bergholt); 10 Ieuan Alldis (King Edward VI).

Minor girls: 1 Nella Walters (Culford); 2 Lottis Summers (Brandeston); 3 Megan Newton (Stour V); 4 Polly Peate

(Barnardiston); 5 Georgina Erhardt (Orwell Pk); 6 Liberty Salsby (Brand); 7 Olivia Allum (Culford); 8 Isabelle Wickens (Kesgrave); 9 Daisie Pitt (Ipswich); 10 Sophie Ogylie (Wood).

Minor Boys: 1 Jolyon Summers (Brand); 2 Alex Baxter (Hadleigh); 3 Matthew Snowden (Gorseland); 4 Thomas McCarthy

(St Louis); 5 Jack Krempel (Barnard); 6 Eammon Woodham (Ben/Britt); 7 Alex Tripp (Farlingaye); 8 Archie Winter (Brand); 9 Louis

Breyer (East Berg); 10 Jess Walters (Culford).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus