Gallery: UK Hot Rod World Final comes to Foxhall Stadium

Ready for the off: The drivers line up for the main National Hot Rod World Championship - Picture: S

Ready for the off: The drivers line up for the main National Hot Rod World Championship - Picture: Steve Waller - Credit: Picture: Steve Waller

Irish eyes were positively beaming as the bridesmaid finally took centre stage in an incident-packed 75-lap drama, at the National Hot Rod World Final and Spede weekend, held at Foxhall Stadium, Ipswich.

Shane Murphy (970) about to retake the lead in the National Hot Rod World Championship race from Gle

Shane Murphy (970) about to retake the lead in the National Hot Rod World Championship race from Glenn Bell during the 44th Annual Picture: Steve Waller - Credit: Picture: Steve Waller

Shane Murphy was the man in question, tasting an emotional victory yesterday.

Meanwhile, Suffolk hopes of retaining the title were shattered as early as turn two. Defending champion, Chris Haird, was launched up and out on the inner kerb, and Danny Fiske, of Diss, was later squeezed terminally into the back straight armco.

Debutant Paul Frost (Woodbridge) retired early on, so that left Shaun Taylor, of Leiston, to fight a lone battle.

Frost proudly finished 16th – his best yet – despite a four-abreast squeeze that put him on the shale.

There was plenty to thrill a large crowd as drama unfolded right from the off with Billy Wood spinning on the opening lap to signal the first of three restarts.

Pole sitter Murphy – three times runner-up no less – looked likely to command the race throughout until yet another race stoppage.

Most Read

Thankfully a fire in the engine for Dutchman John van der Bosch looked worse than it was.

Before the cars got away again, former champion John Christie pulled up, while Bradley Dynes showed his displeasure in no uncertain terms for a deliberate contact incident.

With light rain falling, Murphy led them away very tentatively whereas Bell grabbed the race by the scruff of the neck. He took the outside line and was away within just over a lap.

At this point, Murphy seemed destined again for another consolation bouquet.

With the threat of further rain seemingly passed, the Southern Irish driver rapidly reeled Bell in and by half-way was right on his tail.

Moments earlier, English points winner Kym Weaver pulled up in a cloud of smoke, going the same way as the chances of his fellow countryman.

Seizing a small inside gap, Murphy was through and he never looked back. He quickly pulled away from Bell, the 2012 champion.

With six laps to go, Andrew Murray muscled past Bell with another driver from across the water, Adam Maxwell, making it a clean sweep for the delighted visitors.

Commenting on his hugely popular win, the likeable and modest Murphy was still trying to take it all in: “It’s absolutely unreal. I wasn’t prepared to be second again this year though!” said Murphy.

In another Irish masterclass, Scott Cochrane totally dominated the Lightning Rod World title race, having secured pole after two reverse grid qualifying heats.

Thrills and spills abounded throughout a thrilling 35-race weekend.

With a number of breath-taking finishes, one of the races of the weekend saw Adam Hylands controversially denied a place on the Hot Rod world grid.

His daring tussle with Mark Heatrick and subsequent outside pass in the Wild Card race seemed to have just been enough, but not according to officials.

Locally, Terry Lawrence, of Stowmarket, won the Superstox Eaton Family Trophy and was looking good in the National title race too, until being spun.

Alex Meadows, from Woodbridge, finished third, while Darryl Gilder (Ipswich) took second in the Historic Stock Cars final.

Will Morphey (Peasenhall) and his Uncle, Luke, had a great scrap with Curtis Tebbenham in the entertaining 1300cc Stock Cars. Morphey had the last laugh by taking third in the Supreme title race.


CP Dynes National Hot Rod World Final: 1 Shane Murphy (S Ireland) 2 Andrew Murray (N Ireland) 3 Glenn Bell (N.Ireland) 4 Adam Maxwell (N. Ireland)

Lightning Rods World Championship: 1 Shane Cochrane (N Ireland) 2 Mick Walker 3 Brent Tillow

Bangers Suffolk Championship: 1 Craig Cooper (Worthing) 2 Steve Anscombe 3 Steve Saw (Kesgrave)

Superstox Eaton Family Trophy: 1 Terry Lawrence (Stowmarket) 2 Ben Marjoram 3 Alex Meadows (Woodbridge)

Classic Hot Rods National Championship sponsored by SHP Automotive Eng.: 1 Lee Wood (Huntingdon) 2 Mike Oliver 3 Tim Foxlow

National Hot Rods Wildcard Final spons by Town 102: Winner & Qualifier for World Final: Mike Heatrick (N. Ireland)

2.0 Hot Rods European Championship spons. by Town 102: 1 Kenny Purdie (Scotland) 2 Adam Hylands 3 Daniel Smith

National Hot Rods Bet Fred Trophy: 1 Nigel McCawley (N.Ireland) 2 Robert McDonald 3 Danny Fiske (Diss)

Historic Stock Cars Bob Studd Trophy: 1 Dougie George (Australia) 2 Darryl Gilder (Ipswich) 3 Nik Welham

Stock Rod British Championship: 1 Andy Sturt (Ashtead) 2 Chris Lattka 3 Paul Hunter

1300 Stock Cars Supreme ‘open’ Championship: 1 Adam O’Dell (Houghton Conquest) 2 Kevin Morrison 3 Will Morphey (Peasenhall).

Lightning Rods World Final Revenge: 1 Danny Day (King’s Lynn) 2 Paul Blackman 3 Ben Newman

National Hot Rods Nick Thomas Memorial spons by Quaife Engineering: 1 Adam Maxwell (N. Ireland) 2 Adam Hylands 3 Shane Murphy

Superstox National Championship spons by Lloyds General Builders: 1 Jordan Salmon (Essex) 2 Bobby Davies Jnr 3 Brett Wesbroom

Ninja Karts ‘Stars of the Future’ spons by West London Truck Bodies & Aford Awards

Race 1: 1 Tommy Bouldon (Ash Vale) 2 Max Eaton 3 Aaron Ward

Race 2: 1 Aaron Ward (DMC) 2 Jack Hazlett 3 Adam McFall

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter