George Wood holds on to to win Hatfield Heath Puncheur

George Wood (Richardsons/Trek) winning the Puncheur (Photo by Steve Mahon)

George Wood (Richardsons/Trek) winning the Puncheur (Photo by Steve Mahon) - Credit: Steve Mahon

George Wood (Richardsons/Trek) won the 70-mile Hatfield Heath Puncheur after the race had been dominated by a seven-man break initiated by Wayne Crombie of the promoting East London Velo.

Wood blasted off with two kilometres to go and, though his break companions were closing and only yards behind, took the flag. Braintree rider Daniel Young (Neon Velo) was second, while Newmarket junior Lewis Stevens (Strada Sport) led the bunch charge for eighth place in the Essex race whose name alludes to those who excel in short sharp efforts on a steep hill.

In contrast, the Asparagus and Strawberries Audax from Manningtree is non-competitive, was 400km long and has a different style.

Rider’s comments mention sleeping bags in bus shelters, ice creams by the harbour at Wells-next-the-Sea and how good cycling sandals are... because they let the rain run out.

James Trenchard of Bungay club Godric CC/Becks Bikes was a happy man at the finish of the CC Breckland “Slowest 60” evening 10-mile time trial at Attleborough, winning in 21:04 after a string of second places this spring.

You may also want to watch:

It wasn’t quite the Bungay schoolteacher’s first win... but his last one was in 1992 when he was a Bungay schoolboy himself. Threatened rain thankfully held off and riders only had to contend with a drift of wind against them on what seemed a long haul back from the Snetterton turn.

Chris Guy (Iceni Velo), the 1995 Division Road Race Champion, used his experience to take the win in the Senior race at Lotus after an attack from Peter Hargreaves (VC Norwich) split the field and he escaped with Guy, Dieter Rowe (Strada Sport) and Joe Skipper (NCA).

Most Read

A helpful wind on the slightly longer first leg to the Woolpit turn made for good conditions in the Bank Holiday 10 based at Thurston.

It was won by David McGaw (Cambridge CC) in 20:29, exactly one minute up on Jack Sears of the promoting Stowmarket & District CC. Team winners were CC Sudbury: Damon Day 22:43, Jody Downs 22:59 and James Rush 23:07.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter