Golf's Parks Trophy starts this week

THE first round of the Parks Trophy, the inter-club knockout for seniors, gets under way this week. Thorpeness, the holders, have a bye while runners-up Aldeburgh, being a two-ball club, have not entered.

By Tony Garnett

THE first round of the Parks Trophy, the inter-club knockout for seniors, gets under way this week.

Thorpeness, the holders, have a bye while runners-up Aldeburgh, being a two-ball club, have not entered.

Ipswich selected 81-year-old Arthur Lilley, who plays consistently well, for their home tie against Stoke by Nayland.

You may also want to watch:

Diss field a battle-hardened side at Halesworth. Seven members of the squad of 10 have won the trophy twice in the past. John Lister has been a winner once while Roy Bartrum and Peter Palmer experience the event for the first time.

Halesworth include seniors captain Don Wellman and pick Keith Cady, who has also played in the Tolly Cobbold Cup.

Most Read

It should be quite a battle between Rookery Park and Bury St Edmunds. Rookery name David Porter, chairman of Suffolk Referees' Association, and Ralph Flatt, who is a former News of the World darts qualifier.

Bury St Edmunds have three single-figure handicap players in Jim Cole (five), Mike Hillyard (six) and Terry Hamill (eight).

Rushmere entertain Gorleston with David Duffell, off five, their lowest handicap player. Brian Allum has broken into a squad. The others have all played in the past.

Seckford captain Trevor Barber, a useful cricketer some years ago, names Colin Harrison, the club's Easter Tankard winner who has delayed a trip to the United States to play in this match. They take on near neighbours Ufford Park captained by Peter Collins.

Woodbridge, who reached the semi-finals last year, have a blend of low and higher handicap players.

Jon Marks, the Suffolk Seniors' captain, will play with single figure players Chris Ginn, Mike Revett, Charlie Woods and George Courtney. Graham Watkinson and David Clark will make their debuts at home to St Clements.

Haverhill entertain Stowmarket with club president Chris Briggs, club captain Peter Bowers and life member Spencer Tatum in their team. Darryl Bates has an unbeaten record to defend.

Rushmere v Gorleston

Rushmere: David Duffell, Ron Garnham, Brian Allum, Walter Stark, Peter Gillespie, Tony Todd, John Ellis, Jim Hubert. Reserves: Buster Knock, Tony Paine.

Woodbridge v St Clements

Woodbridge: Jon Marks, Chris Ginn, Mike Revett, Charlie Woods, George Courtney, Graham Watkinson, David Clark, Roger Sinton, John Tonkin, John Forrest.

The Suffolk v Waldringfield

Beccles v Bungay

Seckford v Ufford Park

Seckford: Trevor Barber, David Burdon, Colin Harrison, Laurence Irving, Larry Isherwood, Andy Pitcher, Nigel Pusey, Barry Revans. Reserves: Frank Colbear, Gerry Harris.

Ufford Park: Peter Collins, Bob Denton, Dave Edmonds, Colin Aldous, Keith Norton, Dave Ellis, Chris Griggs, Bob Dunn. Reserve: Mike Reding.

Rookery Park v Bury St Edmunds

Rookery Park: David Porter, Mike Rees, Ralph Flatt, Kenny Sansom, Gerry Moore, Roy Newton, John Knight, Charlie Wilderspin.

Bury St Edmunds: Jim Cole, Colin Gray, Chris Gwinnett-Sharp, Terry Hamill. Mike Hillyard, Peter Markey, Peter Spencer, Ed Wallis, David Kerswell.

Haverhill v Stowmarket

Haverhill: Alan Carter, Peter Bowers, Darryl Bates, Chris Briggs, Jim Rennie, Malcolm Robinson, Malcolm Klingle, Spencer Tatum, Richard Brazier, David Cohen.

Stowmarket: Gerry Sparling, Russell Green, David Barnes, Tom Collett, Keith Rooney, Bob Osborne, Roger Taylor, John Blenkinsop. Reserves: Bill Darling, Barry Lloyd.

Cretingham v Hintlesham

Cretingham: M Linnett, M Morley, T McCusker, T Boyce, R Benton J Carpenter, T Hore, T Bottrell. Captain: Ron Fitch.

Hintlesham: Jonathan Simmons, Brian Grove, Terry Jeffrey, David Sadler, Russell Gissing, Keith Searby, Phil Sharp, David Cross, Peter Gee, Alan Williams.

Ipswich v Stoke by Nayland

Ipswich: Rob Adams, Adrian Callaby, David Cordle, John Edwards, Colin Firmin, George Irvine, Arthur Lilley, Fitz Lombard, Peter Wood.

Flempton v Fynn Valley

Fynn Valley: Roy Gibbs, Eddie Dixon, Peter McCartney, Alan Farnish, Henry Hambling, Mike Nowosad, Andy Macfarlane, Tony Alcock.

Halesworth v Diss.

Halesworth: Keith Cady, Don Wellman, John Bainer, Mike Coventry, Paul Harrison, Neville Greenwood, Eddie Metcalfe, Alan Whiting. Reserve: Bob Clark.

Diss: John Cavilla, Barry Fisher, Bob Allison, Brian Smy, James Crerar, Phil Bartrum, Roy Bartrum, David Bailey, John Lister, Peter Palmer.

Byes: Felixstowe Ferry, St Audry's, Newton Green, Southwold and Thorpeness.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter