Gregor Tait and James Biggs in fine form as county players win in Hambro scoring

New Suffolk Golf Union president Colin Firman (right) receives the badge of office from past preside

New Suffolk Golf Union president Colin Firman (right) receives the badge of office from past president Phil Platten - Credit: Archant

Colin Firman, the new president of Suffolk Golf Union, was present at Rushmere to watch the county men’s team take on a strong team of professionals in a foursomes match.

Firman, who named Bill Darling of Stowmarket as his president-elect at the SGU annual meeting at Bury St Edmunds, saw Jack Cardy’s county players score a one hole victory with Hambro scoring. They lost three matches, halved one but Gregor Tait and James Biggs scored a convincing win in the fifth game.

Jamie Abbott and Chris Smith, a Fynn Valley pairing in their amateur days, beat Chris Bartrum and Josh Driver of Diss.

Sam Forgan and county coach Joe Cardy won a close match with Sam Byford and James Tyler.

County coach Kevin Preston and Lawrence Dodd maintained their 100% record in this match with a narrow win over Jack Cardy and Paul Waring.

You may also want to watch:

Patrick Spraggs and Alex Holmes recovered from four down to halve with Josh Cottrell and Jasper Johnson.

In the final match Will Farley and Peter Latimer had their hands full against Biggs and Tait.

Most Read

At the SGU annual meeting the Winstanley Trophy was presented to Tony Tyrrell on behalf of Fynn Valley Golf Club for the way they have introduced so many players to Suffolk golf who have gone to greater things. Fynn Valley was also commended for the way they have always made their course available for SGU events.

Both the Dick Berendt Cup for the SGU order of merit and the Anglian League order of merit trophy, presented my Mike Rees and Dave Quinney, was won by Nathan Overton who was away on holiday.

The Dave Houston Cup for the junior order of merit went to Sam Byford who, one way or another, will be flying high this year.

The President’s Day competition was won by Jordan Dymond (EGU club support officer) and Will Wright (SGU junior secretary) with 43 points. Two pairs beaten on count back were Jack and Joe Cardy (Suffolk first and second team captains) and Woodbridge’s Malcolm Crissell and Gary Seaman.

The Suffolk Golf Captains’ Association handed a cheque for £500 to assist Suffolk junior golf.

Geoff Henney, who had looked after the finances for the past 12 years, handed over to Peter Sledmere. Trevor Mason became chair of Suffolk junior golf succeeding Mike Stevenson. David Barnes will be county course assessor.

Retiring president Phil Platten is to resume his role as competitions secretary.

Kieran Dymond, updating news from EGU, said that the Partnerships between PGA, and county men’s unions ladies’ associations had

been disbanded. Now EGU was to have 35 club support officers in the country. Kent had been added to the East with Steve Peet still in charge.

Meanwhile Suffolk Seniors play their annual friendly match against the powerful Kent seniors at Woodbridge on Thursday (tee-off noon).

Suffolk include five Woodbridge players on their home course. Steve Duffety of Bury St Edmunds makes his debut.

Suffolk: Steve Whymark, Andy Whittaker, Dick Barton, Steve Mann, Mark Jackson (all Woodbridge), Roger Taylor (Aldeburgh), Nigel Fosker (Felixstowe Ferry), Trevor Golton (Stowmarket), Trevor Hellyer (Hintlesham). Reserves: Team captain: Kevin Brooks (Hintlesham) and Chris Ginn (Woodbridge).

Chris Bartrum and James Biggs of Diss will be seeking to become the first partnership to achieve a hat-trick of wins in the Suffolk Amateur Foursomes to be played at Stowmarket on April 23.

Paul Barnard and Graham Wardley, winners in 2008, are among the early entries. The deadline is April 10.

Bartrum’s plans to turn professional and play on the PGA Europro Tour are on hold. The Suffolk and Diss amateur missed qualification from the first stage at Stoke by Nayland last week.

Those going forward to Frilford Heath this week include Jamie Abbott (Ipswich), James Scade (former Braintree junior) and Chelmsford’s Elliott Oxlade. They will be joined by Chris Soanes of Rookery Park who qualified at the Players Club near Bristol.

Hugo Dobson (Woodbridge), Ben Rawsthorne (Bawbugh) and David Woodhead (Hessle) start in stage two, Woodhead is a former junior at Newton Green.

Sam Forgan of Stowmarket finished high enough up last year’s order of merit so that he is exempt from needing to qualify.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter