Garnett on Golf: Harry Hodgson wins Eastern Counties Challenge Cup, plus Stenson Shield first round draw

From left: Jed Seeley of Newton Green who had the best gross score, Woodbridge Golf Club captain Gar

From left: Jed Seeley of Newton Green who had the best gross score, Woodbridge Golf Club captain Gary Seaman and Harry Hodgson with the Eastern Counties Cup. Picture: TONY GARNETT - Credit: Archant

In his latest Garnett on Golf column, Tony Garnett reports on the Eastern Counties Challenge Cup at Woodbridge and the first round of the Stenson Shield, which is set to get started on Saturday.

Television pundit and former jockey Jason Weaver caddied for his son Max, a member of Suffolk’s unde

Television pundit and former jockey Jason Weaver caddied for his son Max, a member of Suffolks under-16 boys team, in the Eastern Counties Cup Picture: TONY GARNETT - Credit: Archant

In January 1897 the Woodbridge Golf Club committee was empowered to purchase a cup, value not to exceed 25 guineas, to be played for annually by amateur members of any recognised golf club in Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex or Cambridgeshire.

The solid silver Eastern Counties Challenge Cup cost £15 13 shillings and nine pence and is still in use.

On Sunday the competition was won by five-handicap Harry Hodgson from the host club, with net scores of 71 and 67.

Runner-up was Ricky Dzierozynski, also a Woodbridge member, with 74 65. He beat John Whitby of Ipswich (71 68) into third place on count back.

The Arthur Percy Hubbard Salver for the best gross score went to Jed Seeley of Newton Green with rounds of 75 and 69. He included six birdies in his second round.

He beat 17-year-old Habebul Islam of Ipswich on count back who needed to sink a 10-foot putt on the 18th green to retain the Salver.

Most Read

In the Southern qualifier for the Brabazon Trophy last week Islam beat Seeley on count back to qualify. At Woodbridge the tables were turned. Whitby, now in the senior ranks, was third.

At lunch it looked as though three handicap Darrell Aziz of The Rayleigh Club might take the prizes after a round of 69. He took 79 in the afternoon.

The weather was ideal for a field of 66.

Eastern Counties Cup (gross scores).

(Woodbridge members unless stated): Leading scores: 144: J Seeley (Newton Green) 75 69 (winner of Arthur Percy Hubbard Salver); Habebul Islam (Ipswich) 74 70. 145: J Whitby (Ipswich) 74 71. 146: T Owen (Rochford Hundred) 77 69. 148: B Wyatt (Rayleigh Club) 78 70, H Hodgson 76 72 (winner of Eastern Counties Cup), R Oakey (Newton Green) 71 77, D Aziz (Rayleigh Club) 69 79. 149: R Dzierozynski 79 70. 151: C Taylor (Diss) 76 75. 152: C Duffy (Gorleston) 75 77. 153: S Peckford 80 73. 154: P Ogden (Caldecott Hall) 77 76, M Duszynski (Ipswich) 81 73, A Whittaker 81 73, N Fosker (Felixstowe Ferry) 79 75, G Last (The Suffolk) 78 76, J Maddock (Gorleston) 78 76. 155: D Wells (Frinton) 75 80, T Hellyer (Hintlesham) 75 80.

Other scores: 156: T Crisp 75 81, M Eaves (Stoke by Nayland) 75 81, J Wells (Clacton) 74 82. 158: C Ginn 80 78, C Bartrum (Diss) 78 80, F Knights (Ipswich) 76 82. 159: A Studd 82 77, C Downing (Rookery Park) 75 84. 160: R Rayner (Ipswich) 81 79. 161: T Hedin (Aldeburgh) 79 82, N Meadows (Felixstowe Ferry) 79 82, G Seaman 78 83, A Scovell 77 84. 162: J Holland 84 78, J Angel (Colchester) 82 80, I Pope (Rushmere) 81 81, D Rosser 80 82, S Bearman (Newton Green) 80 82. 164: P Buckle (Stowmarket) 85 79, M Weaver (Bury St Edmunds) 84 80. 165: J Driver (Diss) 84 81, J Horsfield 82 83.

- The Stenson Shield gets under way with four first round matches on Saturday.

Holders Aldeburgh have a tricky first round tie at Newton Green with the winners drawn at home to Thorpeness in the second round on June 23.

Aldeburgh captain James Reiss has named the players who won last year’s final against Woodbridge. Gregor Tait is back from the United States.

Newton Green are without Russell Oakey but include club secretary Ben Tawell, a former Rushmere player.

Bungay, unable to select Liam Hansey who will be playing for Suffolk Under 18 boys at Wensum Valley, hope that home advantage will give them the edge over Fynn Valley who include former Waldringfield player Ashley Boother but will miss Traven Abbott.

Rushmere have former juniors, Josh Cottrell and Connor James, back from Purdis Heath for their home tie against Southwold. James Wright is not named in the squad.

Southwold are likely to have a similar squad to that which lost their Hambro Cup tie at Gorleston with players like Guy Maynard, John Meikle and Paul Booth set to play a key role.

Stowmarket include former professional Kevin Earp for their visit to The Suffolk. Jack Forgan is back from Stirling University, but an away tie is always a big test.

Earp was a member of the Suffolk PGA team which won the inaugural England and Wales inter-county championship at The Belfry in 2013 when Lawrence Dodd and Peter Latimer were fellow team members.

First round

Newton Green v Aldeburgh

Newton Green: Jed Seeley, Steve Wordley, Ben Tawell, Simon Bearman, Ben Tatum, Ian Woodhead, James Cooper, Harvey Watts. Reserves: Ben Uttridge, Mike Polley. Captain: Ian Duncan.

Aldeburgh: Will Wright, Ian Kitson, Monty Scowsill, Josh Robertson, Arthur Patten, Nigel Robson, Roger Taylor, James Reiss (captain), Gregor Tait.

Bungay v Fynn Valley

Bungay: Alex Taylor, Nairn Black, Tom Brown, Jacob Calver,

Nairn Black, Andrew Wood, Peter Ogden, Steed Hubbard, Sam Bingham, Peter Revell (captain).

Fynn Valley: Kane Mayes, Mark Wilder, Ashley Boother, Anthony Anslow, Andy Southall, Leigh Meadows, Lewis Rowlands, Wayne Clarke. Captain: Jim Hunt.

The Suffolk v Stowmarket

The Suffolk: Chris Tate (captain), Gary Last, Richard Tungate, Simon Webb, Andrew Kemp, Jeremy Thomas, Daniel Kaye, Mark Henfield. Reserve: Alf Jackson.

Stowmarket: James O’ Doherty, Kieran Issitt, Jack Forgan, Mark Jones, Ross Harvey, Owen Clouting, Bryan Graham, Kevin Earp. Reserves Alex Bligh, John Jameson. Captain: Ken McCredie.

Rushmere v Southwold

Rushmere: Michael Buck, Josh Cottrell, Kevin Eagle, Glen Goldsmith, Ross Howard, Connor James, Alan Middle, Peter Robinson. Reserves: Matt Godbold, Ricky Ling. Captain: Steve Potts.

Second round (on June 23):

Bungay or Fynn Valley v Haverhill; Felixstowe Ferry v Diss; Flempton v Gorleston; Newton Green or Aldeburgh v Thorpeness; Rookery Park v Hintlesham; Rushmere or Southwold v Ipswich; The Suffolk or Stowmarket v Bury St Edmunds;

Woodbridge v Halesworth.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter