Ipswich’s strength in depth may stretch Diss in Stenson Shield

BURY ST EDMUNDS Stenson Shield squad which won at Southwold and will play at home to Thorpeness. Bac

BURY ST EDMUNDS Stenson Shield squad which won at Southwold and will play at home to Thorpeness. Back (from left): James Scott, Stephen Duffety, Michael Gee, Jack Lankester, Dan Smailes, Stephen Lankester, Craig Nurse. Front: Phil Smailes (captain), Max Adams, Roger Nicholson, Ben Coleman, Trevor Titcombe and Justin Millard. Photograph: CONTRIBUTED - Credit: Archant

It promises to be a keen Stenson Shield tussle on Saturday between Ipswich, who have so many category one players, and Diss who travel to Purdis Heath with James Biggs and Josh Driver who were first and second in the Suffolk Amateur Championship.

Ipswich are without Paul Barnard and Cornwall county player Chris Fleming.

They have split the pairing between Josh Cottrell and Connor James but both feature in the side. Jack Phillips, back from the United States, plays with James Tyler whose Suffolk foursomes partner, Sam Byford, plays with Sean Gordon who joined the club from North Berwick where he was champion.

Thorpeness have switched their home tie to Bury St Edmunds because they were unable to comply with the 9.30 tee-off time on their home course. Bury stick to the players who won at Southwold in the first round.

Former professional Kevin Earp, who helped Suffolk win the inaugural PGA England and Wales Inter-County Championship with Lawrence Dodd and Peter Latimer in 2013, makes his Stenson debut for Stowmarket at home to Aldeburgh. It has the makings of a tight match with two former professionals, James Keely and James Reiss, in the Aldeburgh team.

You may also want to watch:

Hintlesham include county captain Jack Cardy at Rushmere.

After their Hambro Cup defeat at Fynn Valley, Sam Debenham and his players will be keen to make amends. Rushmere are always dangerous at home where James Wright and Kevin Eagle are hard to beat.

Most Read

Bungay hope to defy the odds at Felixstowe Ferry. Their heathland players will need to adapt to links golf. They will be boosted by the arrival of Alex Taylor at the club and include two handicap Peter Ogden in their squad. Ferry, captained by Neil Meadows, will expect to take advantage of their home draw.

Newton Green tumbled out of the Hambro Cup at Haverhill and have much the same team for their tie against holders Woodbridge on Bromeswell Heath. They lost 9-3 at Woodbridge in last year’s Stenson third round so face an uphill task.

Haverhill make the tip to Gorleston, always a daunting task, with spirits high after their Hambro win over Newton Green. Gorleston, though, look strong under the captaincy of Danny Perring.

Rookery Park non-playing team captain Chris Soanes has just returned from climbing Ben Nevis. All his top players are available for the visit to Fynn Valley.

Second round ties

Bury St Edmunds v Thorpeness

Bury St Edmunds: James Scott, Stephen Duffety, Michael Gee, Jack Lankester, Dan Smailes, Stephen Lankester, Craig Nurse, Phil Smailes (captain), Max Adams, Roger Nicholson, Ben Coleman, Trevor Titcombe, Justin Millard.

Thorpeness: Lee Newson, Sam Newson, Sam May, Laurence Staff, Jack Cuthbert, Jack Strowger, James Tilbrook, Josh Spall.

Felixstowe Ferry v Bungay

Felixstowe Ferry: Greg Hills, Ben Sayers, Jimmy Price, Bill Macleod, Neil Meadows, Rhodri Harston, Steve Sayers, Paul Sayers.

Bungay: Alex Taylor, Nairn Black, Jacob Carver, Tom Brown, Sam Bingham, Liam Hansey, Peter Revell, Steed Hubbard, Mark Sampson, Ben Beaugeard, Peter Ogden

Fynn Valley v Rookery Park

Fynn Valley: Kane Mayes, Mark Wilder, Traven Abbott, Paul Gray, Gary Smythe, Andy Southall, Leigh Meadows, Tom Smith. Reserve and captain: Lewis Rowlands.

Rookery Park: Guy Mummery, Luke Thompson, Calvin Sherwood, Jack Blowers, Neil Davey, Graham Shillings, Andy Coleman, Dwayne Barber. Reserve: Conal Downing.

Gorleston v Haverhill

Gorleston: Matthew Alp, Ben Leuty, Josh Manser, Danny Perring (captain), Ray Thomson, Steve Crosby, Danny Western, Dave Hellary.

Haverhill: Andy Fish (captain), Harvey Bavester, Dave Spittle, Paul Bartlett, Liam Merritt, Jack Warwick, John Kennedy, Andy Underwood.

Ipswich v Diss

Ipswich: Chris Bye, Connor James, Graham Wardley, Ian Brown, Jack Phillips, James Tyler, Jordan Nelli, Josh Cottrell, Sam Byford, Sean Gordon.

Diss: Chris Bartrum, James Biggs, Josh Driver, Charlie Taylor, Tony Osborn, Darren Maskell, Jason Sewell, Jake Taylor, Charlie Stammers.

Rushmere v Hintlesham

Rushmere: James Wright, Ian Pope, Kevin Eagle, Glen Goldsmith, Peter Robinson, Ross Howard, James Caley, Ricky Ling, Curtis Mann.

Hintlesham: Sam Debenham (captain), Jack Cardy, Jamie Jones, Adrian Meredith, Trevor Hellyer, Jeremy Procter, Kevin Brooks, James Hellyer, Keith Tarrant.

Stowmarket v Aldeburgh

Stowmarket: Kevin Earp, Ryan Turnbull, Jack Forgan, Ben Forgan, Andrew Grogan, Owen Clouting, Henry Cutting, Daniel Voysey. Reserves: Alex Bligh, Kieran Issitt. Captain:

Aldeburgh: Will Wright, Ian Kitson, James Reiss (captain), Josh Robertson, Nigel Robson, James Keely, Gregor Tait, Arthur Patten.

Woodbridge v Newton Green

Woodbridge: Nathan Overton, Steve Mann, Toby Ayles, Tom Fowler, Ricky Dzierozynski, Simon Peckford, Mark Jackson, Dominic Rosser, Andy Whittaker, James Draycott.

Newton Green: Russell Oakey, Harvey Watts, James Cooper, Ben Tatum, Jed Seeley, Ben Tawell, Ian Woodhead, Mike Polley. Reserve: Gareth Evans

Third round: (to be played on July 22): Woodbridge or Newton Green v Gorleston or Haverhill, Stowmarket or Aldeburgh v Felixstowe Ferry or Bungay, Bury St Edmunds or Thorpeness v Ipswich or Diss, Fynn Valley or Rookery Park v Rushmere or Hintlesham.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter