Webster insists soft penalty settled Birmingham loss

ipswich players complain to the referee about his decision to award a penalty during the first half

ipswich players complain to the referee about his decision to award a penalty during the first half at Birmingham Picture Pagepix - Credit: Pagepix Ltd

Defender Adam Webster believes the penalty that ultimately settled Ipswich Town’s visit to Birmingham was a soft one.

Jacques Maghoma latched onto a long throw out by former Ipswich goalkeeper David Stockdale at St Andrew’s before driving past Cameron Carter-Vickers and going to ground inside the area under the United States international’s challenge. Jota stepped up and converted from the spot following protestations from the Ipswich players, with his goal ultimately securing a 1-0 win for the hosts.

But Webster insisted the penalty was a soft one, during a game in which the defender felt there was nothing between the two sides.

MORE: Stuart Watson’s Sunday Verdict: Why delay operation win back hearts and minds?

“There wasn’t much in the game and it was a soft penalty if you ask me - we didn’t get many of them,” he said.

“It was minimal contact but there was nothing in it after that so it’s disappointing.

“At the time I didn’t think it was a penalty at all and that sort of contact shouldn’t really make you fall over so that’s tough.

“When they went 1-0 up they sat back and we’ve got to try and break them down because they are just playing on the counter-attack then and it made it hard for us.

Most Read

“We couldn’t break them down. It’s done now, we’ve just to look forward to Monday now and get ourselves ready and recover ready for Millwall.”

When asked for his thoughts on the penalty decision, manager Mick McCarthy insisted his defence should have stopped Maghoma’s run long before he had reached the penalty area.

MORE: ‘There’s been no difference at all… except there has’ - McCarthy on ‘surreal’ Birmingham game

“It was a good piece of play when we got the cross in. To be fair the keeper catches it and throws it out, but we should have confronted him (Jacques Maghoma) in their half and fouled him in their half and not let him get into our penalty area.

“I haven’t seen it. Somebody has just asked if I thought it was a penalty. I have no idea. Cameron (Carter-Vickers) says he barely touched him, but he should have barely touched him just over the halfway line and then there would be no argument would there? If you allow him to get in the box then you are in danger of giving a penalty away in those situations.”