Sir Alf Ramsey inducted into Ipswich Town Hall of Fame

SIR Alf Ramsey joined the Ipswich Town coveted Hall of Fame at last night’s players’ reunion dinner at Portman Road.

The man who went on to lead England to the World Cup success in 1966 after winning the First Division title with Ipswich in 1961/62 won a special merit award.

The team that shocked the football world by lifting the trophy in the club’s first season of top flight football also received the same award last night as the manager.

Six players were inducted into the Hall of Fame itself – three members of the 1961/62 team Doug Moran, Andy Nelson and John Compton, plus Russell Osman and Paul Mariner from the Town side that won the 1980/81 UEFA Cup.

A posthumous entry into the Hall of Fame was given to Roy Bailey, who was keeper during the hey day of the Ramsey years at Portman Road and also won Third Division South and Division Two championships.

You may also want to watch:

Moran, Compton and Osman were present last night - with current members of the Hall of Fame allowed to vote at an event organised by Bryan Hamilton and Simon Milton.

“It is the first time that a team has been inducted,” said Milton.

Most Read

“The judges thought it is a special time and with the 50th anniversary of winning the Football League coming up this time next year.”

Most of the former players who attended last night’s event will be in a bumper crowd for today’s Championship match against Crystal Palace at Portman Road (kick-off 3pm).

There will be groups from the overseas branches of the Supporters Club.

In addition to promotions for season ticket holders and silver club members, parties from Sweden and Norway will also be attending as part of a weekend of activities that will also take in the home game against Middlesbrough on Tuesday.

Over 1,000 school children and teachers have also taken advantage of one of the club’s popular ‘Schools Promotions’.

The Supporters Clubs has arranged a series of events that include a question and answer session in Lloyds Tavern from midday, with chief executive Simon Clegg and first team players attending.

Also planned is an extended opening of the Legends Bar after the match where several of Town’s ex-players, including John Wark and Osman will be available to sign the new 1980-81 book and meet supporters.

Previous members of the Ipswich Town Hall of Fame:

2007: Mick Mills, Ted Phillips, Ray Crawford, John Wark.

2008: John Elsworthy, Frans Thijssen, Kevin Beattie, Jimmy Leadbitter (posthumous).

2009: George Burley, Arnold Muhren, Billy Baxter, Allan Hunter, Sir Bobby Robson, Pat Godbold, Roy Stephenson (posthumous)

2010: Larry Carberry, Terry Butcher, Cyril Lea, Roger Osborne, Tommy Parker (posthumous), John Cobbold (special merit award).

2011: Doug Moran, Andy Nelson, John Compton, Russell Osman, Paul Mariner, Roy Bailey (posthumous), Sir Alf Ramsey (special merit award), ITFC team 1961/62 (special merit award).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter