Jonasson confirmed as JJ storms to U-21 victory

PETERBOROUGH have confirmed the signing of Tomas H. Jonasson.

PETERBOROUGH have confirmed the signing of Tomas H. Jonasson.

The Swede was originally declared in the Readypower Panthers team last week, but picked up an injury in Poland the day before he was due to make his intended debut.

As a result Panthers had to revert back to the original line-up that included Olly Allen for their home match on Monday against Swindon.

Jonasson has now recovered from the fall that also involved Krzysztof Buczkowski and he make his debut for the Panthers next Thursday when they host near-neighbours King’s Lynn at the Showground.

The new line-up has been approved by BSPA and Jonasson’s 5.38 starting average means he will line-up in the reserve berth, with Norbert Kosciuch moving up into main body of the team.

Meanwhile Michael Jepsen Jensen stormed to the top of the World Under-21 Final leaderboard after winning the Coventry round with a fifteen-point maximum.

Most Read

The Dane put in a faultless display on the rain-effected Brandon track and now takes over as series leader from 2011 winner Maciej Janowski.

Second place went to Coventry asset Przemyslaw Pawlicki, who made a successful return to Brandon with four race wins, but he suffered a disqualification in his fourth outing when he lost a chain following a third-bend clash with GB Wild Card Kyle Newman.

That race had earlier spelt the end of Janowski’s hopes of a win on the night, as he crashed on turn one when chasing Pawlicki, with Newman laying his bike down but also getting caught in the carnage.

Third place went to Mikkel B Jensen, who stayed in touch throughout the event with eleven points from his first four rides, only to run a surprising last place in Heat 20 which enabled Pawlicki to take runners-up spot.

Jepsen Jensen said: “The track was a little tricky because there was mega-grip on the outside and it was slicker on the inside, but I was made some good gates and that made things better for me.

“Nothing is won yet, but it’s good to win with 15 points although winning the rounds themselves is not necessary, you have to be on top at the end. But it’s nice to be leading by three points, so I’m happy.”

RESULT: Michael Jepsen Jensen 15, Przemyslaw Pawlicki 12, Mikkel B Jensen 11, Kyle Newman 10, Maciej Janowski 10, Sam Masters 10, Bartosz Zmarzlik 9, Mikkel Michelsen 8, Nicklas Porsing 7, Patryk Dudek 6, Nicolaj B Jakobsen 5, Tom Perry 5, Piotr Pawlicki 4, Damian Adamczak 3, Tobiasz Musielak 2, Vaclav Milik 1.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter