Ken Henry the hero in Hadleigh win against Worlington

HADLEIGH stole a march on promotion rivals Worlington thanks to a 22-run win in their top-of-the-table clash in Division Two of the Marshall Hatchick Two Counties Championship.

After Josh Davey (46 with ten fours) and Marlon Dias (32) had compiled an opening stand of 62, the visitors wobbled as they lost three wickets for two runs to stand at 135 for six.

They were then indebted to Nikhil and Kalpash Ellis, who scored 31 and 23 respectively, before No.9 Kyle Tanner added an invaluable 38 with five fours and a six in their total of 216.

After Worlington racked up 53 without loss from only eight overs, skipper Davey brought Ken Henry into the attack.

Henry removed Tom Osborn for 39 in his first over and went on to dismiss all of the top six batsmen.

You may also want to watch:

He finished with figures of 15-3-40-6 as second-placed Hadleigh picked up 20 points and extended the gap between themselves and their opponents to 13 points.

However, Hadleigh still trail Witham by six points, after the Essex side registered their tenth victory of the campaign.

Most Read

Witham dismissed basement dwellers Brightlingsea for just 74 before completing a nine-wicket win.

David Leach (50) and Mike Worne (72, including four fours and five sixes) added 111 for the fourth wicket as Ipswich & East Suffolk closed on 206 for six at home to Abberton.

Karl Mildenhall (10-3-18-4) and James Barker (5-1-14-3) then routed the visitors for 66 as IES won by 140 runs.

Woolpit took full advantage of the fact that the day’s five other scheduled Division One fixtures all fell victim to the weather to strengthen their grip at the top of Division One.

The leaders defeated Wivenhoe by eight wickets to extend the gap between themselves and second-placed Mildenhall to 35 points.

Will Parker’s 16-4-46-4 saw Wivenhoe restricted to 151 for nine, and he then opened and contributed 36 not out, but his knock was completely overshadowed by that of Michael Jones.

Coming in at 51 for two, Jones proceeded to score 82 of the 103 runs required.

Marshall Hatchick Two Counties Championship


Coggeshall v Maldon - match cancelled, Coggeshall 6pts, Maldon 6pts.

Elmstead Grasshoppers v Frinton - match cancelled, Elmstead Grasshoppers 6pts, Frinton 6pts.

Exning v Lakenheath - match cancelled, Exning 6pts, Lakenheath 6pts.

Ipswich v Haverhill - match cancelled, Ipswich 6pts, Haverhill 6pts.

Mildenhall v Mistley - match cancelled, Mildenhall 6pts, Mistley 6pts.

Wivenhoe 151 for 9 (C Rule 37, T Affleck 26, W Parker 4 for 46). *Woolpit 154 for 2 (M Jones 82no, W Parker 36no). Woolpit (19pts) bt Wivenhoe (4pts) by 8 wkts.


*Brightlingsea 74. Witham 77 for 1. Witham (20pts) bt Brightlingsea (0pts) by 9 wkts.

Brockley 128. *Woodbridge & OW 132 for 9. Woodbridge & OW (20pts) bt Brockley (6pts) by 1 wkt.

*Dunmow 71. Braintree 72 for 5. Braintree (20pts) bt Dunmow (2pts) by 5 wkts.

Hadleigh 216 (J Davey 46, K Tanner 38, M Dias 32, N Ellis 31, K Ellis 23, J O’Loughlin 3 for 43, C Estlea 3 for 44). *Worlington 194 (T Osborn 39, G Ford 33, R Ford 30, K Henry 6 for 40). Hadleigh (20pts) bt Worlington (9pts) by 18 runs.

*Ipswich & ES 206 for 6 (M Worne 72, D Leach 50, H Hazlewood 26, D Bloomfield 23). Abberton 66 (K Mildenhall 4 for 18, J Barker 3 for 14). Ipswich & ES (20pts) bt Abberton (3pts) by 140 runs.

Mildenhall II 119 (R Clark 38, R Cross 36, T Benham 5 for 30, W Mitchell 3 for 43). *Easton 123 for 9 (J Kimmerling 34, J Beaumont 4 for 41). Easton (20pts) bt Mildenhall II (5pts) by 1 wkt.


Coggeshall II 130 for 9. *Bury St Edmunds II 132 for 6. Bury St Edmunss II (19pts) bt Coggeshall II (5pts) by 4 wkts.

Copford 208 for 8. *Kelvedon & Feering 144. Copford (20pts) bt Kelvedon & Feering (6pts) by 64 runs.

Felixstowe 206. *Long Melford 208 for 6. Long Melford (20pts) bt Felixstowe (8pts) by 4 wkts.

Stowmarket 71. *East Bergholt 72 for 3. East Bergholt (20pts) bt Stowmarket (1pt) by 7 wkts.

*Sudbury II 125. Little Bardfield Village 77. Sudbury II (20pts) bt Little Bardfield Village (5pts) by 48 runs.

*Yoxford 261 for 9. Halstead II 175. Yoxford (20pts) bt Halstead II (8pts) by 86 runs.


Earl Stonham v Ipswich II - match cancelled, Earl Stonham 6pts, Ipswich II 6pts.

Copdock & OI II 73. *Frinton II 75 for 3. Frinton II (20pts) bt Copdock & OI II (1pt) by 7 wkts.

Hadleigh II v Woolpit II - match cancelled, Hadleigh II 6pts, Woolpit II 6pts.

*Mistley II 208 for 6. Ipswich & ES II 210 for 6. Ipswich & ES II (18pts) bt Mistley II (8pts) by 4 wkts.

Needham Market v Clacton II - match cancelled, Needham Market 6pts, Clacton II 6pts.


Abberton II v Tuddenham - match cancelled, Abberton II 6pts, Tuddenham 6pts.

Boxted v Elmstead Grasshoppers II - match cancelled, Boxted 6pts, Elmstead Grasshoppers II 6pts.

*Bury St Edmunds III 60. Great Bromley 61 for 1. Great Bromley (20pts) bt Bury St Edmunds III (0pts) by 9 wkts.

*Harwich & Dovercourt 200. St Margarets 201 for 1. St Margarets (20pts) bt Harwich & Dovercourt (5pts) by 9 wkts.

Maldon II v Kelvedon & Feering II - match cancelled, Maldon II 6pts, Kelvedon & Feering II 6pts.

*Wivenhoe II 175 for 7. Mildenhall III 165. Wivenhoe II (20pts) bt Mildenhall III (6pts) by 10 runs.


*Braintree II 226 for 9. Earls Colne 198. Braintree II (20pts) bt Earls Colne (8pts) by 28 runs.

Ipswich III 155 for 9. *Felixstowe Corinthians 145. Ipswich III (20pts) bt Felixstowe Corinthians (6pts) by 10 runs.

Melton St Audrys v Brightlingsea II - match cancelled, Melton St Audrys 6pts, Brightlingsea II 6pts.

Nacton 94. *Haverhill II 95 for 2. Haverhill II (20pts) bt Nacton (1pt) by 8 wkts.

Long Melford II 214 for 3. *Mildenhall IV 174. Long Melford II (20pts) bt Mildenhall IV (4pts) by 40 runs.


Coggeshall III v Halstead III - match cancelled, Coggeshall III 6pts, Halstead III 6pts.

Copford II v St Osyth - match cancelled, Copford II 6pts, St Osyth 6pts.

*Felixstowe II 154. Maldon III 155 for 6. Maldon III (20pts) bt Felixstowe II (6pts) by 4 wkts.

Stowmarket II v East Bergholt II - match cancelled, Stowmarket II 6pts, East Bergholt II 6pts.

*Sudbury III 147 for 7. Kesgrave 91. Sudbury III (20pts) bt Kesgrave (3pts) by 56 runs.


DBSL v Ipswich IV - match cancelled, DBSL 6pts, Ipswich IV 6pts.

Eye & District 135. Stradbroke 67. Eye & District (20pts) bt Stradbroke (5pts) by 68 runs.

Woodbridge & OW II 184 for 9. *St Margarets II 111. Woodbridge & OW II (20pts) bt St Margarets II (5pts) by 73 runs.

*Worlingworth 134 for 8. Easton II 128. Worlingworth (20pts) bt Easton II (6pts) by 6 runs.


*Brantham 188 for 3. West Bergholt 168. Brantham (20pts) bt West Bergholt (4pts) by 20 runs.

Eight Ash Green v Coggeshall IV - match cancelled, Eight Ash Green 6pts, Coggeshall IV 6pts.

Witham III 189. *Kelvedon & Feering III 108 for 8. Witham III (19pts) bt Kelvedon & Feering III (6pts) by 81 runs.


Brockley II v Worlington II - match cancelled, Brockley II 6pts, Worlington II 6pts.

*Elveden 158 for 9. Haverhill III 36. Elveden (20pts) bt Haverhill III (4pts) bt 122 runs.

*Lakenheath II 229 for 6. Bury St. Edmunds IV 113. Lakenheath II (20pts) bt Bury St Edmunds IV (4pts) by 116 runs.


Clacton v Coggeshall - result not received.

*Ipswich 123. Kelvedon & Feering 124 for 7. Kelvedon & Feering (20pts) bt Ipswich (4pts) by 3 wkts.


Battisford v Felixstowe - result not received.

Frinton 86 for 9. *Mistley 87 for 4. Mistley (19pts) bt Frinton (5pts) by 6 wkts.

*Denotes home team

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter