Martlesham Heath racer Lloyd Chapman secures back-to-back wins as time trial season opens

Age group winner Chris Tye (Plomesgate CC)

Age group winner Chris Tye (Plomesgate CC) - Credit: Archant

Lloyd Chapman scored back-to-back wins as the time trial season opened with the CC Breckland 10 at Hingham, Norfolk followed by the Hainault Hilly 31, based at Navistock Side in Essex next morning.

Fastest from West Suffolk Whs: Darren Davis

Fastest from West Suffolk Whs: Darren Davis - Credit: Archant

Chapman, from Martlesham near Ipswich and best known as a roadman, set a new course record of 20:18 in the Breckland event in crosswind conditions relieved by sunshine and reasonable temperatures

Daniel Bloy was second in 21:22, leading his new VeloVelocity teammates Stuart Fairweather (formerly of Plomesgate CC, 21:30) and David Procter (22:15) to the team prize

Top Junior was Lyster Romero from Wickham Market (21:50). Romero has joined the Bottecchia-sponsored development team of north Kent club Wigmore CC in search of national junior time trial honours.

There were age-group wins for Chris Tye (Plomesgate CC, 22:29) and 59 year-old Steve Peck (Newmarket CC, 24:36) while leading lady was Jen Smart (VC Norwich, 26:18) and fastest West Suffolk Wheeler Darren Davis (22:44)

Lloyd Chapman with a quarter of a mile to go at the CC Breckland 10. Photo: FERGUS MUIR

Lloyd Chapman with a quarter of a mile to go at the CC Breckland 10. Photo: FERGUS MUIR - Credit: Archant

Next morning Chapman’s winning time in the Hainault Hilly was 1:16:30 for the 50 kilometres, which beat Paul Hart of Southend Wheelers by 46 seconds.

This Sunday Chapman leads his Catford CC/Banks team in the Jock Wadley Memorial Road Race near Colchester. Watch the event at Layer-de-la-Haye or Layer Breton from just after 10am

Most Read

The opening round of the Eastern Road Race League promoted by the Crest CC near Saffron Walden proved an epic challenge in conditions described by Tommy Power (Strada Sport) as “Absolutely horrendous”

In wind and rain Power and teammate Ben Beynon attacked on the first climb of the 71 mile race

After about fifteen miles a lead group formed, consisting of Power, Morris Bacon and Zak Coleman (all Strada), Harley Matthews (DAP CC), Tom Elwood (CC London) and Mike Auger (API-Metrow).

Matthews took the first prime and although punctures later blighted the efforts of Auger and Elwood the remaining four were never caught On the climb out of Littlebury with one lap to go Power attacked leaving Bacon and Matthews to finish separately alone taking second and third places.

As Power found the strength to celebrate by hoisting his bike over his head, the rest of the muddy-faced survivors crossed the line, including Andrew Holmes (VC Revolution) fifth and Josh Aiken (Pedal Power Ipswich) sixth.

Looking further afield, Soham rider Kieran Brady (Richardsons/Trek) took tenth place among 113 finishers in the famous Eddie Soens Criterium at Aintree. Frank Longstaff (Colchester Rovers) was 16th.

RESULTS - CC Breckland 10, Hingham: 1 Lloyd Chapman (Catford CC/Banks) 20:18, 2 D Bloy (VeloVelocity) 20:45, 3 C Nurse (North Norfolk Whs) 21:22, 4 J Veira (King’s Lynn CC) 21:28, 5 S Fairweather (VeloVelocity) 21:30, 6 J Boyle (Sleaford Whs) 21:30, 7 L Romero (Wigmore CC) 21:50, 8= R Golding (Ely & District), D Procter (VeloVelocity) and A Birt (Team Bottrill) all 22:15

Women : 1 Jen Smart (VC Norwich) 26:18, 2 K Burgess (King’s Lynn CC) 27:28, 3 A Milk (Tri-Anglia) 27:42. Vet on Std: Boyle (+5:06).

CREST CC Road Race, Saffron Walden,1 Tommy Power (Strada Sport),2 Morris Bacon Strada Sport), 3 Harley Matthews (DAP CC), 4 J O’Connell (Regents Park Rouleurs), 5 A Holmes (VC Revolution), 6 J Aiken (Pedal Power, Ipswich), 7 M Auger (API-Metrow), 8 L Gentry (VC Baracchi), 9 M Richards (VCB) 10 Z Coleman (Strada), 11 B Longstaff (Colchester Rovers), 12 D Shanney (Redbridge CC), 13 C Ward (Essex Roads), 14 M Carter (Velo Schils).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter