Needham Market manager relishing early trip to Sudbury

Mark Morsley

Mark Morsley - Credit: James Ager

Needham Market manager Mark Morsley is happy with his team’s start to the season, and is also relishing an early away day at former club AFC Sudbury in Ryman League Division One North.

The Marketmen host Romford on the opening day and travel to the MEL Group Stadium on Bank Holiday Monday (August 26).

“I am more than happy with our start,” said Morsley.

“Romford have made a few changes and we have got a new team almost so it will be an interesting game.

“From the chairman’s point of view, he would have been hoping for a lucrative home game on Boxing Day and he’s got that with a derby against AFC Sudbury.


You may also want to watch:


“I am sure the games with AFC Sudbury will attract a few of their fans who want to give me a bit of stick, having managed them before, but that is fine and it is all part of the day.”

He added: There are a lot of games to play in August but that’s what happens when the league is extended by two teams.”

Most Read

Sat Aug 10 Romford H

Tue Aug 13 Burnham Ramblers A

Sat Aug 17 Heybridge Swifts A

Tue Aug 20 Redbridge H

Sat Aug 24 Wroxham H

Mon Aug 26 AFC Sudbury A

Sat Aug 31 F.A. Cup Prelim

Wed Sep 4 F.A. Cup Prelim - Replays

Sat Sep 7 Erith & Belvedere H

Tue Sep 10 Witham Town A

Sat Sep 14 Aveley A F.A. Cup Q1

Sat Sep 21 VCD Athletic H

Tue Sep 24 Dereham Town H

Sat Sep 28 Waltham Forest A F.A. Cup Q2

Sat Oct 5 F.A. Trophy Prelim

Sat Oct 12 Brentwood Town H F.A. Cup Q3

Sat Oct 19 Thurrock A F.A. Trophy Q1

Sat Oct 26 Tilbury H F.A. Cup Q4

Sat Nov 2 Harlow Town A F.A. Trophy Q2

Sat Nov 9 Cheshunt A F.A. Cup 1

Sat Nov 16 Barkingside H F.A. Trophy Q3

Sat Nov 23 Waltham Abbey A

Sat Nov 30 Maldon & Tiptree H F.A. Trophy 1

Sat Dec 7 Ware A F.A. Cup 2

Sat Dec 14 Burnham Ramblers H F.A. Trophy 2

Sat Dec 21 Romford A

Thu Dec 26 AFC Sudbury H

Sat Dec 28 Redbridge A

Wed Jan 1 Wroxham A

Sat Jan 4 Heybridge Swifts H F.A. Cup 3

Sat Jan 11 Chatham Town A F.A. Trophy 3

Sat Jan 18 Soham Town Rangers H

Tue Jan 21 Dereham Town A

Sat Jan 25 Aveley H F.A. Cup 4

Sat Feb 1 Erith & Belvedere A F.A. Trophy 4

Sat Feb 8 Waltham Forest H

Tue Feb 11 Witham Town H

Sat Feb 15 VCD Athletic A F.A. Cup 5 / F.A. Trophy Semi-Final (1)

Sat Feb 22 Brentwood Town A F.A. Trophy Semi-Final (2)

Sat Mar 1 Thurrock H

Sat Mar 8 Cheshunt H F.A. Cup 6

Sat Mar 15 Barkingside A

Sat Mar 22 Waltham Abbey H F.A. Trophy Final

Sat Mar 29 Maldon & Tiptree A

Sat Apr 5 Ware H

Sat Apr 12 Tilbury A F.A. Cup Semi-Final

Sat Apr 19 Harlow Town H

Mon Apr 21 Soham Town Rangers A

Sat Apr 26 Chatham Town H

Fixtures are

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus