Notable double for Wheelers

ALAN Trolove and Peter Balls have given West Suffolk Wheelers a notable road and time trial double.

There was just a tyre’s width in it, but 15-year-old member Trolove scored a morale boosting win just one week before the Youth Circuit Racing National Championship. Trolove won the final race of the Lee Valley Youth CC summer series on the purpose-built Hog Hill track on the edge of London, an event deliberately planned as a warm-up for the championship. Repeated ascents of the steepest climb in the complex of circuits left only a select few in the lead group, including Trolove, Josh Green of LVYCC and Keiron Brady (Ely & District). At the line no human eye could separate Kristian Woolfe (Kings Cliff Flyers) and the red-kitted Bury rider, but the camera revealed Trolove as the winner.

Peter Balls, also from the Bury club, retained his East District 25 mile time trial championship with a 53:39 ride on a windswept Wisbech bypass. The course started with six tough miles, followed by six that were very fast. This was repeated and there was a final hard mile to the finish. The wind was steadily increasing and the later starters had the worst of it. Balls started last of all – but he overcame any disadvantage to win, just four seconds ahead of Paul Ashby (Wisbech Wheelers) with James Eman (Anglia Velo, 53:55) in third spot.

Emilie Fisher, who incidentally is the new Cycle Suffolk Project Coordinator, was the fastest lady in 1:00:58. However as Emilie’s Orbea team is based outside the East District, Laura Gambling (1:3:39) is ladies champion. Keiron Brady is junior champion - he was only 34 seconds away from beating the hour in his first-ever 25.

A well-organised bunch chase changed the pattern of the VC Baracchi road race in which VC Norwich’s Simon Asher made the first move but Luke Ryan from Canterbury had the last laugh. Asher made a lone bid right from the start. When he was joined by David Weir (Cycling Bargains) and Guardian journalist Matt Seaton it looked as if the trio might stay away. However Beccles roadman Chris Guy galvanised the bunch into a 20 rider through-and-off group, each rider doing a few seconds at the front, and the race came alive. On the last leg of the 80 miles 20-year-old Ryan (Team Toachim) went for a long sprint and held on to win from Robert Jackson, also from Canterbury and VC Norwich’s Mike Auger.

This VC Baracchi promotion is usually The Beccles Road Race, but, on a weekend dominated by strong winds the well-wooded Somerleyton Circuit was an ideal substitute.

Chris Guy (EST/CCN) was the winner at Lotus. Guy, Phil Hetzel (Ipswich BC), Ben Nicholson (EST/CCN) and Mike Auger (VC Norwich) made a successful break and on the last lap Guy and Hetzel escaped to take the first two places.

Most Read

Glenn Stanford (Extreme Sports Therapy) won the senior race at the third round of the Mud, Sweat and Gears MTB races at Danbury in Essex, where Dan Oakley of Chelmer Cycles took fourth place. On a 3.3 mile circuit featuring the double tracks left by quad bikes, local winners included Jordan Beighton (Maldon & District and Emma Sampson (Missing Link Cycles). Full results are at

The hot and windy weather wasn’t ideal for riders in the 600 kilometre (374 mile) Audax event based at Seething in south Norfolk. The 42 entrants had 40 hours to complete a route which criss-crossed the region, starting with 60 headwind miles to Red Lodge, via Dunwich.

In a windy Zak Carr Memorial 25 on the Newmarket bypass Liam Gentry set a new VC Baracchi club record of 53:32 and clubmate Nick Esser improved his personal best to 56:55. Winner was Mike Jones with a 51 minute ride.


Lee Valley Youth CC, Hog Hill, U16: 1 Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers), 2 K Woolfe (Kings Cliff Flyers), 3 J Green (Lee Valley Youth), 4 J Maynard (Welwyn Whs), 5 L Fawke (Welwyn Whs) 6 L Hattersley (St Ives CC) 7 K Brady (Ely & District) 8 J Brown (PPV)

VC Baracchi Road Race: 1 Luke Ryan (Team Toachim) 2 R Jackson (Goldtec), 3 M Auger (VC Norwich), 4 B Moss (Cambridge CC), 5 J Wilmott (Yswtyth CC), 6 D Rowe (VC Norwich).

EDCA Championship 25, Wisbech: 1 Peter Balls (West Suffolk Whs) 53:39, 2 P Ashby (Wisbech Whs) 53:43, 3 J Eman (Anglia Velo) 53:55, 4 G Rushmore (King’s Lynn CC) 56:19, 5 A Jardine (Ipswich BC) 57:02, 6 D Staff (Anglia Velo) 57:24, 7 D Lorne (Norwich ABC) 57:37, G Frost (API) 57:44, 9 C Nudds (CC Breckland) 57:45, 10 J Nixon (58:12).

Ladies: 1 Emilie Fisher (Orbea) 1:00:58, 2 L Gambling (CC Breckland) 1:3:39 (EDCA Champion).

Veteran on Std: Colin Bunnett (King’s Lynn CC) +20:15. Junior: Keiron Brady (Ely & District) 1:00:33.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter