Plenty of spills and thrills as Wattisfield hosts event

Jake Brown and Matthew Connor (Sidecar) in action. Photo: SOPHIE BRINKLEY

Jake Brown and Matthew Connor (Sidecar) in action. Photo: SOPHIE BRINKLEY - Credit: Archant

Diss MCC hosted their first MX meeting of the year at the Wattisfield Hall circuit in Suffolk, on Sunday, with round three of the British Clubmans Sidecar Championships, and round four of the NGR over 30’s Championships.

Jason Morland in action at Wattisfield. All photos: SOPHIE BRINKLEY

Jason Morland in action at Wattisfield. All photos: SOPHIE BRINKLEY - Credit: Archant

A decent-sized crowd were treated to 12 races in warm sunshine, although heavy rain during the week had made the circuit slippery during the early races.

The sidecar races saw plenty of spills and thrills on the fast, tight circuit, with the track marshals and race officials kept very busy insuring the races progressd. Surprise overall winners were Jake Brown/Matthew Connor, who led from the start of each race, ensuring that they were clear of the melee going on behind them. Neil Cmpbell/Craig Parmenter fought through to second place in race one, narrow beating series leaders, Ross Bowers/Rob Eastman. Race two saw some exciting, closely fought racing going on behind Brown/Connor. After a race long tussle, Bowers/Eastman just kept ahead of Sam Osbaldiston/Nathan Cooper.

Brown/Connor claimed their third win in the last race of the day, with Bowers and Osbaldiston once again involved in a hectic scrap for second place. Rob Oldfield, and his lady passenger, Faye Barnes, were in contention earlier, but a couple of problems saw them slipping down the order.

Overall on the day, it was Brown/Connor from Bowers/Eastman, third were Osbaldiston/Cooper. Phil Rogers/Greg Wernham were fourth, from Arthur Walton/Steve Baughan.

You may also want to watch:

2016 champion, Tim Clark, was on fine form in the NGR races, winning all three motos with ease. In race one, Clark stormed to the front, leaving Lee Keyton, Aaron Smith and Paul Hubbard disputing second place. They were joined by series leader, Liam Walker, resulting in a fierce four way battle for second place.

At the finish, it was Clark, over a minute ahead of Hubbard, Walker and Keyton.

Most Read

Race two saw Clark dominating again, with Walker and Hubbard once again battling over second place. Walker finished second from Hubbard, followed by Keyton, Aaron Hopkins and Michael Ridge in a closely fought finish.

Timothy Clark (NGR) flies through the air

Timothy Clark (NGR) flies through the air - Credit: Archant

Hopkins finally made a better start in the third race, but Clark was again in a class of his own, winning easily from Walker and Hopkins. Ridge got the better of local rider, Paul Hubbard for fourth place, with Andy Cattermole grabbing sixth from a tiring birthday boy, Lee Keyton.

Round five is on June 4 at Stisted near Braintree.

The two allcomers groups provided some good racing, with the fastest 40 A group being dominated by the popular allrounder, Jason Morland.

Riding his Jim Aim-sponsored KTM bike, Morland led all three races from the start, and was never headed, although local Diss club rider, Ben Talbot, riding a rare Honda two-stroke machine, kept Morland honest in all three motos, with some great riding for second overall. Another Diss club member, George Ellis, rode well for third on the day, battling hard with young Harry Clark in all three races.

Newly-promoted expert, Aaron Holloway, had three good rides for fifth overall, with Sudbury club’s Ryan McDonnell the leading junior grade rider in sixth on the day.

Shaun Grimwood took the overall win in the B group with a win and two second places on his Kawasaki. Diss club member, Alex Smith, just got better as the day wore on. Problems in the first race saw him finish 12th, followed by a third in race two, and a win in the final encounter, giving him second overall. Robbie Green had three consistent rides for third on the day.

Robert Green in action at Wattisfield

Robert Green in action at Wattisfield - Credit: Archant

Solo results.

NGR over 30’s overall. Tim Clark Honda, Liam Walker KTM, Paul Hubbard KTM, Aaron Hopkins Husqvarna, Lee Keyton Yamaha, Michael Ridge Yamaha

Allcomers group A overall. Jason Morland KTM, Ben Talbot Honda, George Ellis Husqvarna, Harry Clark KTM, Aaron Holloway Kawasaki, Ryan McDonnell KTM

Allcomers group B overall. Shaun Grimwood Kawasaki, Alex Smith Honda, Robbie Green KTM, Jack Rookard Honda, Daniel Knights Yamaha, Dave Watson Kawasaki.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus