Ridgeons League accept new club’s application

CAMBRIDGE University Press will play in Division One of the Ridgeons League next season.

The club, who finished runners-up in the Kershaw Premier Division last season, had their application accepted at the Ridgeons League’s annual meeting at Diss Town FC on Saturday.

Cambridge University Press, who formed in 1893 and are the oldest club in the city affiliated to the Cambridgeshire FA, finished second behind Fulbourn Institute, who did not apply to join the Ridgeons League as their ground does not meet the necessary criteria.

With Premier Division champions Needham Market moving up to Division One North of the Ryman League and Great Yarmouth Town, FC Clacton and Brantham Athletic promoted from Division One, next season’s Premier Division will again have 22 teams.

This is the same as last season, following the withdrawal during the campaign of both King’s Lynn Reserves and Harwich & Parkeston, meaning that Division One will start next season with just 17 teams.

You may also want to watch:

That leaves the league with a rather lopsided look ahead of the 2010/11 campaign, which will kick-off on Saturday, August 7.

However, any fears that Wivenhoe Town or indeed Woodbridge Town, the bottom two sides in the Premier Division last season, would be relegated as a consequence were unfounded.

Most Read

David Mayes, the league’s fixtures secretary, explained: “Our rule book states that the top three teams in Division One are promoted provided they meet the necessary criteria.

“With three teams going out of the league - Needham Market, King’s Lynn and Harwich & Parkeston - neither Wivenhoe nor Woodbridge finished in a relegation position.

“Ideally we would like a constitution of 22 teams in each division and we are hopeful that clubs in other Step 7 leagues will join us in the future.”

The draws for this seasons Ridgeons League Cup, First Division KO Cup and Ridgeons League Youth Cup have been made as follows:

Ridgeons League Cup 2010/11

Preliminary Round Draw (to be played week commencing September 27, 2010): Felixstowe & Walton Utd v Wivenhoe Town, Hadleigh Utd v Stowmarket Town, March Town Utd v Fakenham Town, Newmarket Town v Haverhill Rovers, Norwich Utd v Debenham LC, Saffron Walden Town v Long Melford, Walsham-le-Willows v Thetford Town.

First Round Draw (to be played week commencing October 25, 2010): Brantham Athletic v Ipswich Wanderers,Dereham Town v Wisbech Town, Diss Town v Gorleston, Ely City v March Town Utd or Fakenham Town,FC Clacton v Whitton Utd, Felixstowe & Walton Utd or Wivenhoe Town v Hadleigh Utd or Stowmarket Town, Great Yarmouth Town v Norwich Utd or Debenham LC, Halstead Town v Stanway Rovers, Histon Res v Cornard Utd, Kirkley & Pakefield v Leiston, Mildenhall Town v Godmanchester Rovers, Newmarket Town or Haverhill Rovers v CRC, Saffron Walden Town or Long Melford v Cambridge University Press, Team Bury v Swaffham Town, Walsham-le-Willows or Thetford Town v Downham Town, Wroxham v Woodbridge Town.

First Division KO Cup 2010/11

Preliminary Round Draw (to be played on October 5, 2010): Long Melford v Ipswich Wanderers.

First Round Draw (to be played week commencing November 1, 2010): Cornard Utd v Whitton Utd,

Diss Town v Thetford Town, Downham Town v Swaffham Town, Fakenham Town v Gorleston, Godmanchester Rovers v Cambridge University Press, Long Melford or Ipswich Wanderers v Halstead Town, March Town Utd v Saffron Walden Town, Team Bury v Stowmarket Town.

Ridgeons League Youth Cup 2010/11

Preliminary Round Draw: Bungay Town v Harford Tornadoes, Cromer Town v Debenham LC, Dereham Town v Deeping Rangers, Diss Town v Great Yarmouth Town, Downham Town v Watton Juniors, Fakenham Town v Wisbech St Mary, FC Clacton v Wivenhoe Town, Felixstowe & Walton Utd v Brantham Athletic, Huntingdon Town v Walsham-le-Willows, Lowestoft Town v Gorleston, Mildenhall Town v Cornard Utd, Newmarket Town v Soham Town Rangers, Stotfold v Haverhill Rovers,Swaffham Town v Thetford Town, Whitton Utd v Coplestonians, Woodbridge Town v Ipswich Wanderers.

First Round Draw: Blackstones v Chatteris Town, Bourne Town v Downham Town or Watton Juniors,

Diss Town or Great Yarmouth Town v Kirkley & Pakefield, Fakenham Town or Wisbech St Mary v Dereham Town or Deeping Rangers, FC Clacton or Wivenhoe Town v Whitton Utd or Coplestonians,

Framlingham Town v Cromer Town or Debenham LC, Leiston v Hadleigh Utd, Lowestoft Town or Gorleston v Wroxham, Norwich Utd v Bungay Town or Harford Tornadoes, Royston Town v Mildenhall Town or Cornard Utd, Somersham Town v Newmarket Town or Soham Town Rangers,

St Neots Town v St Ives Town, Stotfold or Haverhill Rovers v Huntingdon Town or Walsham-le-Willows, Stowmarket Town v Felixstowe & Walton Utd or Brantham Athletic, Wisbech Town v Swaffham Town or Thetford Town, Witham Town v Woodbridge Town or Ipswich Wanderers.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter