Rob Ormond wins a thriller in round three of Trinity Park Series

Rob Ormond wins from Mitch Powell at Trinity Park. Pictures: FERGUS MUIR

Rob Ormond wins from Mitch Powell at Trinity Park. Pictures: FERGUS MUIR - Credit: Archant

The trainee structural engineer from Stonham Parva had barely a yard in hand over the short-distance grass track champion from Chelmsford whose sprint is not to be sniffed at.

Sophie Holmes (left) outsprints Ipswich's Tanya Griffiths for second place at Trinity Park

Sophie Holmes (left) outsprints Ipswich's Tanya Griffiths for second place at Trinity Park - Credit: Archant

Third place went to Chris Crabtree of LCUK just ahead of Junior Kieran Jarvis of Team OnForm.

The race had been fast from the start with the field strung out in a long line over the opening laps, each rider desperate not to allow a gap to open that would presage a split.

Often seen at the front driving the pace was Stowmarket rider Gavin Moore and Freddie Grover, the Fast-Test Under 16 rider who has earned dispensation to race with the Seniors.

Mark Richards (VC Baracchi) was another trying to get away while Army CU man Adam Colvin did succeed in opening a gap, with Richards bidding to join him.

You may also want to watch:

However Powell, a good sprinter with an interest in keeping the field together, led the chase and the field – or at least the 17 riders who had avoided being dropped – all came together.

Moore attacked again, this time with Jack Hardwicke (Strada Sport) but the group was together as they streamed down the back straight into sight of the finish and commenced the final charge to the line.

Jake Crossley takes the youth win at Trinity Park

Jake Crossley takes the youth win at Trinity Park - Credit: Archant

Most Read

In the women’s race a lead group of Rebecca Johnson, Sophie Holmes, Tanya Griffiths and Gemma Melton formed, with Mandy Bunn (CC Sudbury) ploughing a lone furrow behind.

Johnson, not so much a sprinter, made repeated attempts to escape, on one occasion taking the last corner of the lap with such verve that she ran out of road – but managing to stay upright.

Finally Johnson (Aprire/HSS) got her gap and eventually won by 12 seconds with Sophie Holmes (Terminator) getting the judge’s verdict in the closest of sprints with Tanya Griffiths (Ipswich BC).

Duncan Ryan (LCUK) won the Fourth Cats race in a tight finish ahead of Tim Cross (Pretorious Bikes) and Hugo Boyce (Ipswich Bicycle Club.)

Jake Crossley (Colchester Rovers) took a lone win in the Youth races, 12 seconds clear of Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave Panthers). Molly Cutmore (U16) and Jodie Taylor (U14) were the top girls.

Former Kings of the Hill Peter Ingram and Tim Snookof Ipswich BC returned to the Gasp Up Gas Hill in Norwich but this year they were first round casualties.

John Lillingstone (Ipswich BMX) leads the BMX Final at the Gasp Up Gas Hill

John Lillingstone (Ipswich BMX) leads the BMX Final at the Gasp Up Gas Hill - Credit: Archant

It was John Lillingstone (Ipswich BMX Club) who was claimed the laurels in this match-race event where four competitors race side by side up the one-in-four climb.

Lillingstone, using a cog carefully chosen to suit, topped the BMX category and then beat the winners of road bike, MTB and cycle speedway classes to take the Grand Finale before a packed crowd on the hill above Norwich yacht station.

The CC Breckland 15 mile time trial assumed unusual importance because while, 15 miles has always been a standard distance for women and tandems, men’s records are in future to be recognised.

With the Record Book freshly opened several times from the CCB event are likely to be declared national competition records. These include that of winner Matthew Smith (Team Bottrill, 28:29), team winners, VeloVelocity members Matthew Senter (30:20), David Procter (31:31) and Ben Keeley (31:59) as well as tricyclist Gary Hinxman (33:41) and the trike team from the Lincoln Wheelers whose combined time was 2:01:35. Conditions for the evening event on the Attleborough- Wymondham road were hot with a light crosswind.

The Veteran’s TTA Championships on the Newmarket bypass were curtailed by an accident.

Memories of strings of rear lights streaming across the night landscape and of a brilliant clear dawn dominate reports of the Dunwich Dynamo night ride from London to the Suffolk coast. Many savoured their achievement on the shingle of Dunwich beach, just a few swam.

SUFFOLK CYCLE RACE SERIES (Rd 3, 5th July), Trinity Park, MEN E/1/2/3:

1 Rob Ormond (Morvelo Basso), 2 Mitch Powell (Team Terminator), 3 Chris Crabtree (Team LCUK), 4 Kieran Jarvis (CT OnForm), 5 Gary Freeman (Fast Test),6 Mark Richards (VC Barrachi), 7 Adam Colvin (Army CU), 8 Matthew Day (TPH Racing), 9 William Mapus-Smith(Clwb Beicio Egni), 10 Gavin Moore (Pro Cycle Hire).

WOMEN: 1 Rebecca Johnson (Aprire/HSS), 2 Sophie Holmes (Team Terminator), 3 Tanya Griffiths (Ipswich BC), 4 Gemma Melton (Pedal Power Ipswich), 5 Mandy Bunn (CC Sudbury).

CAT 4s: 1 Duncan Ryan (Team LCUK), 2 Tim Cross (Pretorius Bikes), 3 Hugo Boyce (Ipswich BC), 4 Neil Hughes (Velo Schils), 5 Callum Mullett-Nice (Rockets & Rascals), 6 Jamie French (Flatlandria CC).

UNDER 16 Boys: 1 Chris Springall (VC Norwich), 2 Oliver Davey-Smith (Colchester Rovers), U14 Boys: 1 Jake Crossley (Colchester Rovers), 2 Lewis Brinkhoff (Kesgrave Panthers) + 0:45secs, UNDER 16 Girls: 1 Molly Cutmore (TPH Racing), 2 Rose Branton. U14 Girls: 1 Jodie Taylor (Team Terminator), 2 Poppy Branton.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus