Rumbling to victory

CYCLO-CROSSThere was everything to play for among the veterans in the final round of the EADT Cyclo-Cross League. A win from any one of three competitors would secure the league championship as well as the race.


There was everything to play for among the veterans in the final round of the EADT Cyclo-Cross League. A win from any one of three competitors would secure the league championship as well as the race.

In the event it was Gavin Rumbles (Trek/VW) who stormed round the course at Hillyfields, Colchester to beat Clive Ling (Diss & District) by 17 seconds.

On the first lap it was the third contender, Tim Butler (Ipswich BC), who led the veterans, but the dry, firm, fast conditions shook up his old injuries - suffered in his 32 seasons of racing - and he could not sustain the pace.

You may also want to watch:

Rumbles overtook, chased by Ling. Lap after lap the gap between Rumbles and Ling varied - between as much as 19 seconds down to as little as eight. Ling never gave up, but he never quite caught up either.

“I gave it my best shot, but the other man was faster on the day” he said.

Most Read

Rumbles had been winner of the veteran's prize in four EADT League races in a row in the autumn.

However he had not had a victory since the Broome Heath race in December and looked to be out of the reckoning. He turned his fortunes around with a tough weekend of training followed by a midweek rest.

Faced with the cancellation of the previous round of the EADT League, he substituted a half-marathon distance run, followed by riding from his Luton home to Milton Keynes to watch a mate race. Next day it was a five-hour ride on his MTB. Then rest until the decisive race at Hillyfields .

The new EADT Veterans League winner is not intending to put his feet up in the summer. Rumbles is looking to higher things - having had his entry accepted for the Trans-Rockies mountain bike stage race in Canada in August.

Senior winner at Colchester was Shaun Aldous (Lotto/Interbike). Aldous has had a season dogged by injury, but brought it to a fine conclusion with a confident 59-second win. Chelmsford Junior David Nichols (Glendene/Biketrax) was second and Nathan Miller took third. As well as competing, Miller was the event organiser on behalf of Colchester sports shop 53-12 Multisports.

The course was highly praised “something of everything” said fourth-placed Glenn Stanford (API/Metrow). Some parts were on raised grassland, elsewhere the course climbed, dipped and twisted through scrub and over rough ground.

The early laps were eventful.

Miller led off the line. But on the first lap his chain bounced off. Nick Ainsworth, in second place, ran into him. Glenn Stanford then took the lead. Ainsworth's handlebars broke and later his spare bike punctured. Ian Newby hit a tree. Aldous caught up to Stanford and trailed him, attacking when Stanford faltered - and settled into the lead which he held to the end. Behind, Stanford got an impact puncture, and, without a spare bike, had to change a wheel in the pits. This let David Nichols into second place, which he held to the end. Miller, already assured of the senior championship, finished third,.

Newby's crash gave rise to concern, with several competitors stopping to assist, but before first-aiders could reach the Diss rider he was up and working his way back through the field, eventually outsprinting Rumbles for fifth place overall.

Luke Newby (Diss & District) dominated the youth race. Newby opened a gap on Matt Cook (Mildenhall CC) on the first lap and led to the finish. It was his eighth win of the season and gave him a perfect 400 point EADT League score. Cook was second and Robert Green (Ipswich BC) third. Glendene/Biketrax rider Josh Green got his first Under-14 win, finishing fourth overall after a mid-race tussle with Tom Fitzpatrick (Diss & District).

Second spot in the EADT League was at stake in the race for Under-12s. Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) is champion by virtue of an unbeatable eight wins, but Alwyn Newstead (Ipswich BC) and Jack Hardwicke (Plomesgate CC) were on equal points in second place. Newstead led on the first lap, with Dunlea next and Hardwicke third. Hardwicke fought his way into second place and challenged Newstead, but the IBC youngster was able to pull out a seven second lead on the last lap.

Sophie Holmes (Diss & District) made good use of her gears in the wooded part of the course to get ahead of Henrietta Colborne (Fat Birds CC). Though Henrietta responded, Sophie had a 46 second lead at the end and so finished one point ahead in the league after a season-long rivalry.

On Sunday the cyclo-cross season is rounded off by a madison event in the grounds of Mildenhall Cricket Club, Wamil Way, Mildenhall. This is a fun race for relay teams of two - watch out for some unusual pairings.

Following this is the EADT League Prize Presentation in the Cricket Club. Winners need to collect their awards in person - otherwise their prize money goes to the league.

Seniors, Juniors, Veterans, Women

1 Shaun Aldous (Interbike RT) 8 laps in 59:54; 2 David Nichols 1st Jun (Glendene CC/Bike Trax) +0:50; 3 Nathan Miller (53-12 Multisports) +1:54; 4 Glenn Stanford (API/Metrow) +2:08; 5 Ian Newby (Diss & District CC) +3:20; 6 Gavin Rumbles 1st Vet (Trek VW) +3:22; 7 Clive Ling Vet (Diss & District CC) +3:39; 8 Craig Beech (Interbike RT) +5:11; 9 Stephen Brazier Vet (SIS) +5:54; 10 Adam Keer (Ipswich BC) +6:14; 11 Tim Butler Vet (Ipswich BC) +7:29; 12 Bruce Robinson Vet (Shaftesbury CC) +7:47; 13 Kevin Wilby (Ipswich BC) +8:15; 14 Gary Wood Vet (Maldon & District) +8:35; 15 Martin Carter +8:38; 16 Craig Stevens Vet (PCA Ciclos Uno) +1 lap +0:04; 17 John Terrell Vet (Ipswich BC) +1 lap +0:13; 18 Clive Harrison Vet (Ford CC) +1 lap +0:32; 19 Jim Hardwicke Vet (Plomesgate CC) +1 lap +0:35; 20 Ben Paton (Angliasport) +1 lap +0:44; 21 Russell Cook Vet (Ford CC) +1 lap +0:46; 22 Terry Smith Vet (Interbike RT) +1 lap +1:33; 23 John Gabriel Vet (Hinckley CRC) +1 lap +2:19; 24 Kieron Dunlea Vet (PCA Ciclos Uno) +1 lap +2:21; 25 Mark Walker (Interbike RT) +1 lap +2:24; 26 Jen Ives 1st Woman (Interbike RT) +1 lap +2:43; 27 Kevin Barker (PCA Ciclos Uno) +1 lap +3:12; 28 Paul Moss Vet (Stowmarket & District) +1 lap +3:37; 29 Colin Newstead Vet (Ipswich BC) +1 lap +3:38; 30 Roger Holmes (VC Revolution) +1 lap +5:03.


1 Luke Newby (Diss & District CC) 4 laps in 31:58; 2 Matthew Cook (Mildenhall CC) +1:28; 3 Robert Green (Ipswich BC) +2:34; 4 Joshua Green 1st U14 (Glendene CC/Bike Trax) +4:29; 5 Tom Fitzpatrick (Diss & District CC) +6:49; 6 Lewis Parker U14 (Ipswich BC) +8:26; 7 Sam Bores (Lee Valley Youth CC) +10:09; 8 Ellen Triggs 1st Girl (Colchester Rovers) +10:20; 9 George Wood U14 (Maldon & District) +1 lap +0:06; 10 Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Whls) +1 lap +3:08.


1 Alwyn Newstead (Ipswich BC) 7 laps in 17:46; 2 Jack Hardwicke (Plomesgate CC) +0:07; 3 Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) +0:50; 4 James Jackson 1st U10 (Colchester Rovers) +1:00; 5 Tristan Price U10 (Chelmer CC) +1:13; 6 James Madgwick (Lee Valley Youth CC) +1:35; 7 Emily Wilkins (Chelmer CC) +1:40; 8 Matthew Madgwick (Lee Valley Youth CC) +1:41; 9 Sophie Holmes 1st U8 (Diss & District CC) +1 lap +0:37; 10 Charlotte Wickens +1 lap +0:39 +3:07.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter