Shaq Meyers named Bury Rugby Club player of the year

Bury Rugby Club's player of the year Shaq Meyers

Bury Rugby Club's player of the year Shaq Meyers - Credit: Archant

Bury St Edmunds Rugby Club has named Shaq Meyers as its seniors player-of-the-year in an awards ceremony celebrating the end of the most successful season in the club’s history.

The club topped National League Three last season, earning their second league promotion in three seasons and making Suffolk rugby history – no team from the county has ever played as high as National League Two.

And utility player Meyers, a former pupil at St Joseph’s College in Ipswich, was a mainstay in the all-conquering side.

Gavin Hogg, Director of Rugby at Bury, said: “Shaq Meyers has been an ever-present in the first-team squad this season playing the majority of our games in our successful National League Three campaign.

“Shaq has played several different positions for the first team, from appearances in the back row, moving to scrum-half to cover injury and also getting extended game time in the centre and the wing.

You may also want to watch:

“His level of performance has never dwindled and he has picked up several man-of-the-match awards this season.

“Shaq is a player who always gives 100% and a popular member of the senior squad.

Most Read

“This award is well-deserved recognition for his first season with Bury and we are delighted that he has signed for next season to be part of our National League Two campaign.”

Other players recognised for their outstanding contribution throughout the season were: Connor Adams (seniors, most promising player); Tim Mann (seniors most improved player); James Solomon (seniors best newcomer); Sam Bragoli-Jones (Wolfhounds player-of-the-year); Alan Davis (Wolves player-of-the-year); James Dinsdale (Rovers player-of-the-year); Louisa Honeybun (Foxes player-of-the-year); Florence Webb (Foxes most improved player); Jack Rea (Junior Academy player-of-the-year) and Servais Coulber (Junior Academy most improved player).

The award for volunteer coach of the year was jointly presented to U16 head coach Aaron Waters and U13 head coach David Mountford.

Clubman-of-the-year, for the volunteer who has made the most contribution to the club, went to U11 head coach Justin Cain, while the young (U21) volunteer-of-the-year was presented to Ollie Deeming.

Club chairman Mike Robinson said: “Congratulations to all our many award winners this season for their huge contribution to Bury Rugby.

“We thank them and the countless other players, volunteers and sponsors who make our club so special.

“We have enjoyed yet another outstanding season and as we prepare now for the challenges that lie ahead for us playing National League Two, I’d like to extend a big welcome to anyone who loves sport, to come to watch next season and experience the excitement and atmosphere that rugby has to offer at this level.

“We also warmly welcome new players of all abilities and ages, male and female, both full contact and in our new Touch Rugby programme, come and join us next season to experience it for yourself.”

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter