Felixstowe Ferry’s Jo Woodward and Amanda Norman win Haskell Cup

STEARN TROPHY: Fynn Valley’s players who won the final against Thorpeness at Haverhill. From left:

STEARN TROPHY: Fynn Valleys players who won the final against Thorpeness at Haverhill. From left: Vera Skerry, Sue Sparrow, Jane Pitcher, Sally Crosbie, Chris Lynch-Bates (played in earlier round), Claire Fitzpatrick and Sharon Davey. Photograph: Sharon Cozens. Picture: TONY GARNETT - Credit: Archant

Jo Woodward and Amanda Norman of Felixstowe Ferry won the Haskell Cup with a 6 and 5 victory over Abbie Symonds and Helen Bray in the final at Haverhill.

This 36-hole match was all square at lunch. In the afternoon the putts started to roll in for Jo and Amanda, the former Hockley sisters, who were called up into the Suffolk Ladies’ team for the England County finals last month.

It was the second time in three years that Woodward and Norman had won this trophy and the 11th success for Felixstowe Ferry since the competition started in 1969 for a trophy presented by Granville Haskell.

Felixstowe Ferry had beaten The Suffolk, Bury St Edmunds and Stowmarket on their way to the final. Ipswich had a bye followed by wins against Flempton, Hintlesham and Bungay.

The Stearn Trophy, also over 36 holes, is for three foursomes matches for ladies with handicaps between 12 and 20. Fynn Valley beat Thorpeness at the first play-off hole. It was the fifth time they had won since the event started in 1985.

You may also want to watch:

Sharon Davey and Sue Sparrow of Fynn Valley lost to Jill Innes and Wendy Jarvis in the first match 4 and 3.

Fynn Valley levelled the scores when Vera Skerry and Claire Fitzpatrick beat Di Sammons and Viv Sears 5 and 4.

Most Read

In the final match Fynn Valley’s Jane Pitcher and Sally Crosbie were one up on the 18th tee but Rita Alcock and Val Smith won the final hole to take the match to a play-off.

At the first extra hole Pitcher produced a great shot to the green which set up the Fynn Valley victory watched by more than 60 spectators.

Pitcher and Crosbie, who sunk the winning putt, were unbeaten in this competition all year.

- There was a field of 76 players for the opening Suffolk Winter Alliance meeting of the season at Halesworth.

The better ball competition was won by David Matter and Norman Salmon of Bury St Edmunds with 43 points on count back with 23 points on their back nine.

Runners-up were Graham Vandervord and Tony Carman of Stoke by Nayland who had 21 on their back nine.

Third place went to Sam Forgan and his father Andrew from Stowmarket with 20 on the back nine.

Forgan won the professional prize with a round of 68. His only rival, Mark Farrow of Diss, had 80.

The next Alliance meeting will be a pro-am with a shotgun start at Bury St Edmunds on October 11.

Other better ball scores

42pts: J Hellyer and R Clemson.

41: C Briggs and D Simpkin.

40: B Hitchcock and N Cavan, I Benson and D Brace.

​39: A Middle and L O’Donovan, M Fox and P Griffiths, J Smith and J Williams, L Osborn and T Etheridge.

38: K Hastie and L Hastie, I Smith and R Bland, M Kennington and B Stammers, A Hammond and N Spong.

37: I Bedford and A Gipson, M Farrow and A Mitchell, R Davies and D Yates.

36: K Rooney and M Eaton, M Robinson and S Cousins, C Leys and R Deasy, P Bartlett and K Ward, C Seward and J Cunnell, A Cornish and C Mellings, L Seager and R Spong, P Samain and R Walters, S Rex and J Kennedy.

35: R Ross and R Clayden, I Wheeldon and G Staples.

34: C Whyatt and A Garrett, T Broomfield and M Firman.

33: B Castle and M Moore, A Fish and C Leathers, L Fish and M Williamson.

32: A Barham and S Wiggins.

30: G Davis and S Gray, P Walters and L Turner.

29: W Darling and A Cherry.

- The regular PGA Europro Tour season ended at Moor Allerton leaving only the Tour Championship over the Oceanica Faldo course on the Algarve between October 24 and 26.

The top 60 in the order of merit are eligible to play. They include Woodbridge’s Hugo Dobson who finished in 11th place winning £12,043.

Miles Collins of Stoke by Nayland is also eligible for the trip to Portugal. He finished in 44th place winning £4.533 from his 11 tournaments.

Missing out in 69th spot is Sam Forgan who won £2865, Bawburgh’s Ben Rawsthorne in 92nd spot and Chelmsford’s Jack Hiluta who played in only five events.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter