Rushmere and Ipswich meet in big derby Stenson clash

NEWTON GREEN, conquerors of holders Aldeburgh, now face Thorpeness. Back (from left): Mike Polley, I

NEWTON GREEN, conquerors of holders Aldeburgh, now face Thorpeness. Back (from left): Mike Polley, Ian Woodhead, Jed Seeley, Scott Nayler, Ben Tatum. Front: James Cooper, Simon Bearman, Ian Duncan (captain), Steve Wordley and Harvey Watts. Photograph: CONTRIBUTED - Credit: Archant

The Stenson Shield on Saturday, when the best club players in Suffolk go head to head, sees a Derby match between Rushmere and Ipswich which is the pick of the round.

It was not until 1926 that Ipswich Golf Club split away with a move from Rushmere Heath to Purdis Heath. Ever since there has been keen sporting rivalry.

Saturday’s match will have even more than an edge because two members of the Rushmere team, Josh Cottrell and Connor James, played for Ipswich last season.

Ipswich include Sean Gordon, from North Berwick and Chris Fleming from Perranporth.

There has always been the annual battle for the Queensland Cup between the clubs, but it has the makings of a cliff-hanger when patience could be rewarded as Rushmere is a busy course on a Saturday afternoon.

You may also want to watch:

The meeting of Stowmarket and Bury St Edmunds is another top encounter which looks too close to call. Stowmarket had matters much their own way in their first-round victory at The Suffolk. Bury look solid.

Hintlesham visit Rookery Park seeking to avenge last season’s 7-5 defeat in the quarter-finals. Rookery will not be as strong. Guy Mummery is now a tournament professional and Mark Henderson has joined Halesworth.

Most Read

Their top players are Calvin Sherwood and Luke Thompson.

Hintlesham are captained by Sam Debenham. They strong at the top of the order. Newton Green knocked out holders Aldeburgh in the first round and go into their next tie at home to Thorpeness as favourites.

Last year’s losing finalists Woodbridge, winners in 2016, entertain Halesworth. It would be a surprise if it ended in anything other than a home win.

Felixstowe Ferry may have too much strength in depth for visiting Diss who will look to Josh Driver for a positive contribution.

Saturday’s ties: Bungay v Haverhill, Felixstowe Ferry v Diss, Flempton v Gorleston, Newton Green v Thorpeness, Rookery Park v Hintlesham, Rushmere v Ipswich, Woodbridge v Halesworth, Stowmarket v Bury St Edmunds.

Hambro Cup second round

Aldeburgh beat Ufford Park by 11 holes.

Aldeburgh names first (all day scores): Logan Mair and Tim Hedin two down to Luke Cleland and Terry Noble, Nigel Robson and Jack Strowger three up against James Keeble and Simon Severwright, James Barham and Sam Edmond six up against George Fricker and Paul Jordan, Jim Harrison and Jack Levermore four up against Josh Nelli and Mike Virley.

Stowmarket beat Hintlesham by three holes.

Morning (Stowmarket names first): Matt Lockwood and Ross Harvey 0 Adrian Meredith and James Rowe 2, Mark and Ryan Turnbull 2 Ben Stammers and Connor Talbot 0, James O’Doherty and Kieran Issitt 4 Kevin Brooks and Keith Tarrant 0, John Jameson and Matt Rawlings 0 Dan Fenton and Trevor Hellyer 1. Afternoon: O’Doherty and Issitt 2 Meredith and Rowe 0, M and R Turnbull 3 Brooks and Tarrant 0, Jameson and Rawlings 0 Hellyer and Fenton 4, Lockwood and Harvey 0 Stammers and Talbot 1.

Bury St Edmunds beat Seckford by nine holes.

Morning (Bury St Edmunds names first): Craig Nurse and Ben Aves halved with Ollie Heath and Tom Piddington, Andy Cunningham and Mike Greener halved with Sam Pollexfen and Steve Woollard, Steve Duffety and Dan Smailes 0 John Cunnell and Chris Marjoram 3, Ben Coleman and Roger Nicholson 4 Mark Edgerley and Christian Hewson 0. Afternoon: Nurse and Aves 0 Edgerley and Hewson 1, Cunningham and Greener 5 Pollexfen and Woollard 0, Coleman and Nicholson 6 Cunnell and Marjoram 0, Duffety and Smailes 0 Heath and Piddington 2.

Halesworth beat Gorleston by 12 holes.

Morning (Halesworth names first): Mark Coby and Andrew Higgins halved with Tommy Hunt and Kevin Woods, Paul Coby and Will McIntosh 5 Josh Manser and Jack Butcher 0, Paul Tillett and Mark Henderson 3 Ray Thompson and Brendan Gough 0, Wayne Jacques and Andrew Browne 0 Chris Duffy and Danny Perring 5. Afternoon: M Coby and Higgins 6 Manser and Butcher 0, P Coby and Browne 3 Woods and Hunt 0, Gary Taylor and McIntosh 1 Thompson and Gough 0, Tillett and Henderson 0 Duffy and Perring 1.

Fynn Valley beat Rushmere by 11 holes.

Morning (Fynn Valley names first): Andy Dixon and Traven Abbott 0 Josh Cottrell and Connor James 3, Paul Gray and Reegan Marshall 2 Peter Robinson and Alan Middle 0, Mark Wilder and Tom Smith 1 Matthew Godbold and David Leach 0, Andy Southall and Gary Smythe 0 Glen Goldsmith and Rick Garrard 3. Afternoon: Southall and Smythe 3 Cottrell and James 0, Gray and Marshall 3 Godbold and Leach 0, Wilder and Smith 2 Kevin Eagle and Robinson 0, Dixon and Abbott 6 Goldsmith and Garrard 0.

The Suffolk 3 Ipswich 0

Morning (The Suffolk names first): Gary Last and Andy Kemp 3 James Tyler and Gavin Richards 0, Simon Webb and Danny Hawkins 0 Simon Godbold and Pete Brady 5, Chris Tate and Ian Mortlock 2 Ian Brown and Dan Bryett 0, Mark Henfield and Daniel Kaye 2 John Whitby and Jordan Dymond 0. Afternoon: Webb and Hawkins 0 Tyler and Richards 2, Tate and Mortlock 5 Godbold and Brady 0, Last and Kemp halved with Brown and Bryett, Henfield and Kaye 0 Whitby and Dymond 2.

Felixstowe Ferry 0 Woodbridge 5

Morning (Felixstowe names first): Adam Sheldrake and Ben Sayers 0 Andy Whittaker and Paul Finbow 2, Jimmy Price and Mel Pipe 2 Simon Peckford and Taylor Crisp 0, Billy McLeod and Greg Hills 0 Ricky Dzierozynski and Gary Seaman 3, Steve Sayers and Rhodri Harston 0 Toby Ayles and Steve Mann 3. Afternoon: Sheldrake and Paul Waring 0 Whittaker and Finbow 1, Price and Pipe 0 Dzierozynski and Seaman 2, McLeod and B Sayers 2 Peckford and Crisp 0, S Sayers and Harston 2 Ayles and Mann 0.

Thorpeness beat Bungay by eight holes.

Quarter-finals (to be played on July 15): Aldeburgh v The Suffolk; Fynn Valley v Bury St Edmunds; Halesworth v Thorpeness; Stowmarket v Woodbridge.

Tolly Cobbold Cup

Second round: Rookery Park 21 The Suffolk 0, Seckford 22 Hintlesham 0, Southwold 0 St Clements 1, Haverhill 48 West Suffolk 0, Ipswich 12 Aldeburgh 0, Felixstowe Ferry 0 Stowmarket 4, Fynn Valley 1 Bury St Edmunds 0, Bungay 0 Rushmere 3.

Quarter-finals (July 15): Haverhill v St Clements; Fynn Valley v Rookery Park; Ipswich v Seckford; Rushmere v Stowmarket.

Suffolk won their Anglian Senior League match against Lincolnshire at Belton Woods by nine and a half to five and a half,

Suffolk led by 3.5 to .1.5 after the foursomes. There were wins for Steve Whymark and Roger Taylor, Mark Jackson and Andy Whittaker, and Kevin Brooks and Nigel Fosker. Graham Shillings and Trevor Hellyer halved while Nigel Robson and Steve Duffety lost one down.

In the singles there were wins for Robson, Brooks, Fosker, Whittaker and Shillings. There were halves for Taylor and Jackson while Whymark, Hellyer and Duffety lost.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus