Stowmarket Hambro skipper Henry Cutting makes changes ahead of Seckford clash

How wise is it to make wholesale changes to a winning team?

Stowmarket Hambro Cup captain Henry Cutting will discover at Seckford on Sunday.

Stowmarket beat Southwold by 14 holes in the first round. Now they leave out lower handicap players James O’Doherty, Jack Forgan, Keiran Issitt and Andy Cunningham. In come Ben Forgan, Ryan and Mark Turnbull and Scott Bennett.

When Stowmarket won the Hambro Cup in 2009 their team captain Bill Darling adopted similar tactics at Seckford when Patrick Spraggs was a caddy. They were worried about conceding too many shots on a shortish course. Seckford’s trees have grown since then and the 18 holes present a tougher challenge.

Teenager Ryan Turnbull twice won the Stonham Barns Under 12 Championship in 2011 and 2014.

Ufford Park introduce Mike Virley, formerly of Waldringfield, to their team to visit Brett Vale. Josh Nelli, George Fricker and Sam Ward form the backbone of what looks a well balanced team.

Brett Vale are always competitive so a prediction would be unwise.

Most Read

There is a North Suffolk derby match at Bungay where Rookery Park are the visitors. Bungay now have Alex Taylor from Southwold and talented teenagers Liam Hansey and Sam Bingham with a year more experience.

Rookery Park, captained by tournament professional Chris Soanes, have not included leading players like Luke Thompson, Guy Mummery and Calvin Sherwood.

Gorleston team captain Danny Perring will miss Chris Duffy, Stephen Crosby and John Maddock. Even so, after their victory over Felixstowe Ferry, they will fancy their chances with home advantage over Halesworth.

Haverhill, with star players Chris Vince and Lewis Whiting now at Gog Magog, are at home to a consistent Newton Green who include new club secretary-manager Ben Tawell who was runner-up in a Trilby Tour event at Bawburgh this month. Simon Bearman was showing his usual consistent form in the Suffolk Amateur Championship and is a key man for the visitors.

There is little difference between the Diss Hambro Cup team to the one they field in the Stenson Shield. They stick with Hambro tradition by fielding their leading players at home to Fynn Valley including James Biggs and Josh Driver who were first and second in the Suffolk Amateur Chasmpionship.

Valley’s confidence will have been boosted by their home first round victory over Hintlesham despite so many of their former stars now based elsewhere. They can expect to receive plenty of shots.

The Suffolk do not have far to travel to face Bury St Edmunds who will hope Max Adams has recovered from his foot injury that ruled him out of the Suffolk Amateur Championship.

Hambro Cup: Second round

Brett Vale v Ufford Park

Brett Vale: Chris Hammond, Simon Woods, Ross Christie, Joe Hanlon, Nick Davis, Nick Stinson, Owen Norman, Alan Cursons. Captain: Brian Welton.

Ufford Park: Josh Nelli, George Fricker, Paul Jordan (captain), Sam Ward, Luke Cleland, Mike Virley, Tom Wake, James Keeble.

Bungay v Rookery Park

Bungay: Nairn Black, Jacob Carver, Tom Brown, Liam Hansey, Sam Bingham, Alex Taylor, Steed Hubbard, Peter Revell (captain). Reserve: Mark Sampson.

Rookery Park: John Fisher, Casey Bailey, Andy Coleman, Dwayne Barber, Graham Garrod, Craig Bloodworth, James Nolloth, Ian Foxten. Reserve: Phil Hetherington. Captain: Chris Soanes.

Bury St Edmunds v The Suffolk

Bury St Edmunds (from): Ben Coleman, Matt Fordham, Craig Nurse, Gary Ward, Malcolm Wyer, Max Adams, Phelam Curr, Simon Robson. Dan Smailes, Trevor Titcombe. Captain: Phil Smailes

The Suffolk: Gary Last, Simon Ferrari, Mark Henfield (captain), Paul Pearce, Andy Kemp, Ian Mortlock, Daniel Kaye, Jezz Thompson, Doug Frew.

Diss v Fynn Valley

Diss: Chris Bartrum, James Biggs, Josh Driver, Darren Maskell, Archie Moore, Paul Wright, Tony Osborn (captain), Michael Closs. Reserve: Jake Taylor.

Fynn Valley: Kane Mayes, Mark Wilder, Traven Abbott, Paul Gray, Gary Smythe, Andy Southall, Leigh Meadows, Tom Smith. Reserve and team captain: Lewis Rowlands.

Gorleston v Halesworth

Gorleston: Josh Manser, Darren Hellary, Matthew Alp, Ben Leuty, Danny Western, Jack Butcher, Daniel Crosby, Danny Perring (captain), Reserve: Bob Richardson.

Halesworth: Paul Coby, Mark Coby, Paul Sherwood (captain), Josh King, Gary Taylor, Will McIntosh Andrew Browne, Gary Etchells. Reserves: Grant Docherty, Andrew Higgins.

Haverhill v Newton Green

Haverhill: Andrew Fish, Andrew Underwood, Jack Bligh, Jack Warwick, John Kerr, Liam Merritt, David Pipe, Jim Darby. Captain: Paul Bartlett.

Newton Green: Russell Oakey, Harvey Watts, Simon Bearman, James Cooper, Jed Seeley, Ben Tawell, Gareth Evans, Mike Polley. Reserve: Ian Woodhead.

Seckford v Stowmarket

Seckford: Sam Pollexfen (captain), Taylor Crisp, Clive Seward, Robbie Brame, Mark Edgerley, Chris Marjoram, Mark Crisp, Tony Carter.

Stowmarket: Owen Clouting, Trevor Golton, Matt Lockwood, Scot Bennett, Ryan Turnbull, Mark Turnbull, Ben Forgan, Ross Harvey. Reserves: Andy Forgan. Captain: Henry Cutting.

Woodbridge v Flempton

Woodbridge: Mark Jackson, Ricky Dzierozynski, Simon Peckford, Ollie Heath, Toby Ayles, James Draycott, Tom Fowler, Steve Mann. Reserve: Andy Whittaker.

Flempton: Alfie Halil, Dez Halil, Graham Sykes, James Hurst, Colin Campbell, Dan Wilson, Ralph Evans (captain), David Cargill, Colin Marchbank, Andrew Mangeot, Rupert McCallum.

Third round (to be played on July 16): Gorleston or Halesworth v Bungay or Rookery Park; Bury St Edmunds or The Suffolk v Woodbridge or Flempton; Haverhill or Newton Green v Seckford or Stowmarket; Brett Vale or Ufford Park v Diss or Fynn Valley.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter