SUFFOLK SPORTS AWARDS 2012: Project of the Year award

PLANS are in place to replicate a successful Ipswich-based football project across Suffolk.

A successful first year resulted in anti-social behaviour in Whitton, one of the project’s areas, dropping by 21 per cent between January and July 2012, compared to the same period last year.

The Friday Night Football Project was formed as a partnership between Suffolk FA, the local Safer Neighbourhood Teams (SNT) and Ipswich Borough Council, last year, and was piloted in Whitton and Chantry.

Such has been the success of the five-a-side project that representatives from Suffolk FA and the scheme, James Payne, Mark Page and Peter Leask, were on hand to pick up the Project of the Year award at the Suffolk Sports Awards.

A similar scheme has been launched in Acton, near Sudbury.

You may also want to watch:

“There will be projects popping up in other places,” said Get Into Football Officer, Payne.

“The concept works and the kids love it and want to come along to the project every week.

Most Read

“We want to move it to other areas where there are issues with anti-social behaviour.”

Since its launch, around 160 youngsters (11-plus) have passed through the project, which also aims to provide routes into volunteering, refereeing and coaching.


The Abbeycroft Leisure Coach of the Year: Malcolm Fenton (Athletics)

The Suffolk FA Contribution to Disability Sport Award: Louise Pennell (Powerlifting)

The Young Suffolk Young Community Volunteer of the Year Award: Kelly Scrutton (Football)

The Nemisys Enterprise Ltd Project of the Year Award: Friday Night Football Project

The Harrod UK Junior Team of the Year Award: Great Cornard Middle (Year 8 boys football)

Archant Suffolk Senior Team of the Year Award: Mildenhall Fen Tigers

The BBC Radio Suffolk Unsung Hero Award: Tony Bristow (Badminton)

The Touchline Sports Club of the Year Award: Stowmarket RUFC

The Healthy Ambitions Suffolk Primary School of the Year Award: St Louis RC Primary School

The ITFC Charitable Trust Secondary School of the Year Award: Copleston High School & King Edward VI

The Suffolk Agricultural Association Triumph Over Adversity Award: Brendan Clifford (Multi sport)

The Active Waveney Lifetime achievement Award: Brian Williams (Rugby)

The Larking Gowen Young Sports Personality Award: Charlotte Wastell (Karate)

The Suffolk County Council Sports Personality of the Year: Anthony Ogogo & Zoe Newson

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter