Three players on the move and clubs’ promotions confirmed

STRIKER Kieran Leabon is looking for a new club after being released by Ryman League Premier Division Bury Town.

Manager Richard Wilkins said one of the deciding factors in letting the former Histon frontman move on was that he was one of the top earners at the club.

The 23-year-old scored a first-half hat-trick as Bury beat Marlow 3-0 at Ram Meadow on the final day of the 2009/10 season to clinch the Zamaretto League Midlands Division One title.

Leabon’s departure follows that of assistant manager Richard Skelly, who stood down last week after three seasons due to increased work commitments.

Lee Reed and John Kennedy have both signed new deals, joining Marcus Garnham, Connor Hall, Callum Kearns, Billy Clark and John Sands in staying with the club next season.

Meanwhile, double Player of the Year winner Nathan Clarke has decided to leave AFC Sudbury. Clarke won both the supporters’ and players’ player of the year awards at the Ryman League Division One North club last season.

Manager Chris Tracey said he was “extremely disappointed” that Clarke had decided his future lay elsewhere.

Most Read

Defender Matt Halliday, who was a fringe player at Lowestoft Town last season, has signed for Wroxham, who have today been told they will play in Ryman League Division One North next season following their promotion as champions of the Ridgeons League.

Wroxham will join Essex Senior League champions Witham Town, who have also had confirmation of their promotion to Ryman League Division One North.

Wroxham’s elevation means that Wivenhoe Town should remain in the Premier Division of the Thurlow Nunn League, as the Eastern Counties League will be known from next season. However, this will not be confirmed until the league holds its AGM.

Former Eastern Counties League members King’s Lynn have received confirmation that they will play in Evo-Stik Division One South next season.