Victory for Andre

Andre Dyason stepped up from fourth last year to a clear win in West Suffolk Wheelers 21 mile hilly time trial near Bury St Edmunds.

ANDRE Dyason stepped up from fourth last year to a clear win in West Suffolk Wheelers 21 mile hilly time trial near Bury St Edmunds.

Although it was a hard day Dyason covered the 21 miles in 50:11, beating his 2010 time by 1:20.

Wind direction is crucial on the Risby-Flempton-Lackford circuit and competitors faced a head wind on the main climbs - out of Lackford and the cruelly exposed crossing of Risby Poor’s Heath. However it was reasonably warm – indeed some riders in winter kit felt overdressed. Dyason’s nearest challengers were Stowmarket & District members Gavin Moore (51:31) and Andrew Leggett who was just two seconds slower. Simon Daw was CC Sudbury’s top finisher, taking fourth place in 52:09

Liam Gentry of the Lowestoft-based VC Baracchi powered round the Somerleyton circuit to win the Great Yarmouth CC 25 in 57:34, beating Simon Asher – formerly a clubmate, but now riding for VC Norwich – by 1:58. The Baracchi also had the handicap winner in Mark Pearson who pedalled his fixed-wheel machine round in 1:4:51, a six minute improvement and also the women’s winner in Nikki Hawes (1:13:11).

You may also want to watch:

Former Maldon & District club member Alex Dowsett showed what a professional can do when he won the Lea Valley CC 25 in 49:40, slicing over three minutes off the record for the famous time trial course north of Newport, Essex. The Team Sky pro beat second-placed Chris Rimes, who had won the CC Breckland 10 the previous week, by more than seven minutes.

Dominic Schils, based in Stanway during the winter but riding for Wieler Team Van Eyke, won a spectacular 50 rider sprint for fifth place at the end of Colchester Rover’s Jock Wadley Memorial road race at Layer-de-la-Haye. The race, which increases in stature by the year, was won by Marcin Bialoblocki (Motorpoint), one of four riders who escaped six miles from the finish. A different group of four, including Andrew Griffiths and Kristian House were away for much of the race, with big teams thwarting attempts to chase them down until near the end.

Most Read


West Suffolk Wheelers Hilly 21: 1 Andre Dyason (VC10) 50:11, 2 G Moore (Stowmarket & District) 51:31,3 A Leggett (Stowmarket & District) 51:33, 4 S Daw (CC Sudbury) 52:09, 5jt P Jarvis (Colchester Rovers) & B Phillips (East Grinstead CC) both 52:30, 7 C Nudds (CC Breckland) 53:32, 8 C Leggett (Stowmarket & District) 53:44, 9 A Goodchild (VC Norwich) 55:15, , 10 P Jay (API/Metrow) 55:06, 11 D Sturman (West Suffolk Wheelers) 55:30, 12 S Peck (Newmarket C&TC) 55:59.

Great Yarmouth CC 25, Somerleyton circuit: Scratch: 1 Liam Gentry (VC Baracchi) 57:34, 2 S Asher (VC Norwich) 59:32, 3 N Turner (Great Yarmouth CC) 1:00:45, 4 G Frost ((API/Metrow) 1:01:11, 5 D Bloy (King’s Lynn CC) 1:01:59. Handicap: 1 Mark Pearson (VC Baracchi) Net 41:18, Actual 1:4:51; 2 I Sandell (GYCC) 43:14,1:7:30; 3 S Cole (Diss CC) 43:34;1:18:16. Veteran on Std: 1 C Nudds (CC Breckland) +14:22, 2 P Hargreaves ( VC Norwich) +9:04. Two-Up: 1 Eddie Dean & Peter Johnson (Norwich Amateur BC) 1:5:59, 2 P White (Diss CC) & M Spillman (Tri-Anglia) 1:6:03

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus