Volunteers will be recognised at Eastern Counties Rugby Union awards


- Credit: Archant

Volunteers who work tirelessly behind the scenes will be honoured at the Eastern Counties Rugby Union annual dinner, where the guest speaker will be former England international Rob Andrew, current director of rugby at the RFU.

Clubs within the Eastern Counties were invited to put forward nominations for EC President’s Awards, with 20 individuals being chosen.

Volunteer of the Year: Dee Besant, Mistley RFC

Exceptional Volunteer: Neil Ireland, Bury St Edmunds; Philip Baddely, Cambridge; John Leming, Woodbridge; John Lingwood, Fakenham; Peter Blinkhorn, Crusaders; Colin Dunbar, Norwich; Adrian Hendrick, Norwich Medics; Marcus Gallagher, Hadleigh; Gerry Ellis, West Norfolk; Andy Thomson, Wymondham; Ed Hegarty, Diss.

Services to Rugby: Charlotte McLaughlin, Shelford; Matt Course, Mistley; Andrew Hook, Stowmarket; Pete Somers, Sudbury; Jim Hayter, Harwich and Dovercourt; Kevin Stannard, Thorpeness; Sally and Richard Owen, Thorpeness.

You may also want to watch:

The dinner will also celebrate the success of a dozen teams in the EC area winning their respective divisions, each being presented with a shield.

London National League 3, Bury St Edmunds; London 1 North, Colchester; London 3NE, Sudbury; Eastern Counties 1, Southwold; EC 2N, Diss 2; EC 2S, Colchester 2; EC 2W, Cantabrigian 2; EC3N, Beccles 2; EC 3S, Colchester 3; EC 3W, Ely; EC 4N, Swaffham; EC 4S, Colchester 4.

Most Read

The 57th annual meeting and dinner is being held at The Atheneum, Bury St Edmunds on Friday, June 5.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter