Whitton back in the Ridgeons

WHITTON United, who controversially withdrew their first team from the Ridgeons League last season, are back in it next campaign.

Mike Bacon


By Mike Bacon

WHITTON United, who controversially withdrew their first team from the Ridgeons League last season, are back in it next campaign.

The Ipswich-based club were sanctioned back into the League after the Ridgeons League AGM at the weekend.

Whitton pulled their first team out of the Premier Division last season, with a number of issues, although they did keep their reserve team running.

Most Read

Their withdrawal caused much condemnation at the time from other clubs, who couldn't work out why the Whitton reserve team was kept running, but the first team not.

However at the AGM, Whitton were welcomed their back into the First Division. Team Bury are the other new team to join the League next season.

Cup draws were also made:

League Challenge Cup

Preliminary Round (w/b Sept 28th)

Cornard United v Hadleigh United, Ely City v King's Lynn Res, Godmanchester Rovers v CRC, Kirkley & Pakefield v Norwich United, Saffron Walden Town v Harwich & Parkeston, Thetford Town v Great Yarmouth Town, Walsham-le-Willows v Felixstowe & Walton United, Wivenhoe Town v Haverhill Rovers, Woodbridge Town v Needham Market

First Round (w/b Oct 19th)

Cornard United or Hadleigh United v Long Melford, Dereham Town v Wroxham, Downham Town v Mildenhall Town, FC Clacton v Halstead Town, Histon Res v Ely City v King's Lynn Res, Ipswich Wanderers v Walsham-le-Willows or Felixstowe & Walton United, Kirkley & Pakefield or Norwich United v Fakenham Town, March Town United v Godmanchester Rovers or CRC, Newmarket Town v Wisbech Town, Saffron Walden Town or Harwich & Parkeston v Brantham Athletic, Stanway Rovers (holders) v Wivenhoe Town or Haverhill Rovers, Stowmarket Town v Whitton United, Swaffham Town v Diss Town, Team Bury v Leiston, Thetford Town or Great Yarmouth Town v Gorleston, Woodbridge Town or Needham Market v Debenham LC

First Division KO Cup

Preliminary Round (w/b Oct 5th)

Cornard United v Team Bury, Godmanchester Rovers v Thetford Town, Swaffham Town v Great Yarmouth Town

First Round (w/b Nov 2nd)

FC Clacton v Brantham Athletic, Godmanchester Rovers or Thetford Town v March Town United, Gorleston v Diss Town (holders)

Ipswich Wanderers v Whitton United, Long Melford v Halstead Town, Saffron Walden Town v Downham Town, Stowmarket Town v Cornard United or Team Bury, Swaffham Town or Great Yarmouth Town v Fakenham Town

Chell Trophy

(for teams in the Ridgeons Reserve Divisions)

First Round

AFC Sudbury v Norwich United, Brantham Athletic v Ipswich Wanderers, Cornard United v Halstead Town, Debenham LC v Woodbridge Town, Dereham Town v Thetford Town, Felixstowe & Walton United v Haverhill Rovers, Hadleigh United v Long Melford, Harwich & Parkeston v Great Yarmouth Town, Lowestoft Town v Wivenhoe Town, Needham Market v Walsham-le-Willows, Whitton United v Stanway Rovers, Witham Town v Braintree Town

Byes: Diss Town, Gorleston, Leiston, Stowmarket Town

Matches will be scheduled to Saturdays - actual dates dependent on ground availability

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter