World Champion Tai Woffinden is returning to Rye House in superb British semi-final line-up. Along with Scott Nicholls it’s a cracking field at Hoddesdon. And many more star names to boot!

Tai Woffinden. Picture: Ian Burt

Tai Woffinden. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: IAN BURT

Reigning World Champion and former Silver Ski Rocket Tai Woffinden will be the star name on show when Rye House hosts a Semi-Final of this year’s British Championship on Wednesday, April 30 (7.30pm).

The 2007-08 Rocket – also the defending British champion – has been drawn to ride at the Hertfordshire track, with 7-time titlist Scott Nicholls and Lakeside star Lewis Bridger also set to feature.

The Silver Ski Rockets will be represented in the round by National League Riders’ Champion Steve Boxall and Jason Garrity, who produced a stunning 7th place finish in the Final last year.

Staging promoting Len Silver is clearly delighted to see Woffinden named to the field. “I am absolutely over the moon to know that Tai will be coming home to one of his original stamping grounds, and I know that Rye House supporters will turn up in big numbers to cheer him on, together with Steve and Jason.

“I am unhappy that Luke Bowen has been overlooked for the Championship when riders with a lesser average have been selected, and I have already made an official complaint to the BSPA on that matter, but other than that I am delighted with the field.

“There will be no change to our standard Premier League level pricing for admission. There will, however, be an extra-large combined programme covering both this event and the preceding Saturday’s (April 26th) match between the Rockets and Scunthorpe. This will be on sale on the Saturday for £3.00, and be priced at just £1.00 on the Wednesday for those unable to come to the Scunthorpe match.”

The full draw for the Rye House round is:

Most Read

1. Tai Woffinden, 2. Adam Ellis, 3. Lewis Bridger, 4. Richie Worrall, 5. Steve Boxall, 6. Ollie Allen, 7. Josh Auty, 8. Lewis Blackbird, 9. Leigh Lanham, 10.Ritchie Hawkins, 11. Carl Wilkinson, 12. Jason Garrity, 13. David Howe, 14. Ashley Birks, 15. Scott Nicholls, 16. Stefan Nielsen.

Rye House No.1 Edward Kennett, meanwhile, has been drawn to ride in the Semi-Final being staged at Sheffield six nights earlier, on Thursday, April 24th (7.45pm):

1. Danny King, 2. Edward Kennett, 3. Ashley Morris, 4. Craig Cook, 5. Derek Sneddon, 6. Simon Stead, 7. Richard Lawson, 8. Lewis Kerr, 9. Kyle Newman, 10. Charles Wright, 11. Chris Harris, 12. Stuart Robson, 13. Kyle Howarth, 14. Adam Roynon, 15. Ben Barker, 16. Andre Compton.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter